Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I made these for a family that was going through a rough time, and it was so fabulous and easy. I used a slow cooker, and the only thing I will do differently next time is to use more short ribs. They cook down to not a whole lot of meat, mostly fat and bone. It was super with some mashed potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is a five star recipe! My husband and kids all loved it. I changed the recipe a little, I used hot sesame oil, left out the sugars and instead used a couple of squirts of honey and it turned out perfect! Next time I'll try adding chopped green onions. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Off the hook!! Follow this recipe exactly as written. You will not be sorry. I did have the ribs butterflied by the butcher and cooked them on my All Clad grille pan. Simply delicious! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I followed this recipe with the exception of the white sugar-I just used slightly less then a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and I added a few teaspoons of chili oil (we prefer more spicy to sweet). I let it marinate overnight and then threw it in the crock pot for 4 hours-it was SO yummy! Meat just fell off the bone! Next time I would probably serve with some form of potato vs. rice as the sauce is pretty greasy for pouring over rice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNESAILGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cocooned
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I didn't follow the measurements exactly I just poured things to taste. I did add sliced green onions instead of the mince onion and added a grated pear to help tenderize it. Definitely get the flanken style shortribs. I love the chewy skin part near the bone! yum! Note: it gets very smokey if you grill indoors learn that the hard way =) will definitely try making it with the slow cooker as some reviewers did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocooned

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This recipe is great. I have a friend who was born and raised in Korea. These ribs tasted just like the ones she makes. I used boneless short ribs instead just because I am picky about bones in my meat and they still turned out great. I use toasted sesame oil instead of just sesame oil for a little more flavor. Theses ribs are a hit with all who try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
used as a marinade for ground beef and stir fried it with left over rice and some veggies, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this in the crock-pot and it turned out very well, next time I will try grilling/broiling it. I omitted the white sugar to help reduce calories and it was still very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I added sliced green onions to the marinade, even for the ribs. Served this to a culinary arts teacher and a man who is a very picky eater--he ate several servings and she took the recipe to share with her class. Give it a try, it is wonderful. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States