Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
These are my favorite and this recipe was just like the short ribs that I order at my favorite sushi spot...if not better... thanksfor sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was very good. I used boneless short ribs b/c that is what the supermarket had. I marinaded them overnight. I used light brown sugar and added a little molasses (it was all I had in the house). Would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I've made it several times and all my friends love it. I skipped the black pepper and it just tastes like the one you get in Korean restaurant. I also found the onion optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I used ribs in the crock pot. Even tho they all fell off the bone everyone LOVED them. The kids actually fought over the last of the meat..will have to make a lot more next time. I made rice to go with. Put in pineapple juice as someone recommended. Let cook on low from 9:30 to 3, then on Keep warm til we ate at 5. Next time I will use boneless and make a lot more!!! My 4yr old son is still crying for more meat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
GREAT Flavor.... pretty close to what you would get at your local Korean Restaurant. I used some thicker sliced spare ribs but would say stick to the thin ones. Overall - Great Recipe – would make a good steak marinade too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Really great flavor, however a bit salty - would probably use the low sodium soy sauce next time. We didn't have time to marinate overnight, so our ribs marinated for about an hour or two, then we threw the whole thing, marinade and all, into the oven and cooked it low and slow. Delicious!! I served this with fresh broccoli that I also cooked in the oven with some of the marinade from the meat, a perfect side dish. Looking forward to trying this again and doing the overnight marinade & grill - perhaps might not be as salty then as well. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberjoih

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North East, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Pretty good but not authentic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I cooked these in the slow cooker then finished them under the grill in the oven after brushing them with some ketchup manis, brown sugar and sprinkling of sesame seeds. Very tasty ribs. A little on the salty side but not so much that you couldn't eat them. Next time I would add some ginger & chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Yummy! I was afraid to use a crockpot but did try it....at about the 4 hour mark, I drained it all and added more sauce for about another hour or 2.(quite oily) It darkened up and was so tender, sometimes grilling can leave the meat a little tough. I also added onions and they caramelized with it. Next time I will add potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canadiangirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this for my wife and I last night. I came across some 'last day of sale' boneless short ribs at the local grocery store and had to try it out. My wife has an allergy to garlic, so I left it out, and I'm not sure that the garlic is even necessary.. Of course, I haven't tried it with the garlic, but it was superb without it. Absolutely excellent! I look forward to trying the marinade with regular beef ribs next time I get them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Vineland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States