Korean BBQ Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was awesome. I tweaked it a bit by adding 1 tsp minced garlic and I subst. red pepper flakes (1 heaping tsp)for the paste. I found this recipe at the last minute so I didnt marinate. I used 10 chicken tenderloins, removed the tendons, fat, etc, and cut into bite sized pieces. I then put the chicken in a 9x13 pan and poured enough of the marinade to cover chicken. I covered with foil and baked at 350 for 35 min. stirring halfway through to make sure chicken was covered evenly with sauce. I reduced the remaining marinade in a saucepan, added a bit more water and thickened with cornstarch. When Chicken was done, I added some steamed broccoli florets and the thickened sauce right to the 9x13 pan and tossed to coat, served over jasmine rice. NO leftovers in my house, My husband ate 3 helpings! Even my 2 and 3 year olds ate it up! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I served chicken with this marinade to my Korean parents for dinner. My mom, who said she wasn't hungry before we started eating, ended up going back for seconds and exclaimed that it was delicious. The only changes I made was to decrease the sugar by 1/3 C(trying to make it healthier), and add minced garlic and a touch of sesame oil. Gotta have garlic when you're making Korean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This is a keeper in my house--especially for my picky husband who loves to BBQ. I took the advice of others and used red pepper flakes since they are handy, added crushed garlic and sesame seeds sprinked on top, and reserved some of the marinade (thickened with cornstarch) to pour over the chicken and the other side dishes. Thinking ahead the next time, I doubled the marinade. I used half of the marinade for that nights dinner and put the other half of the marinade with a few pieces of raw chicken in a ziplock for a second dinner. I put that bag of marinading chicken in the freezer. It marinaded while it froze, then 2 weeks later it marinaded while it defrosted for about 48 hours in my fridge. It made for an easy dinner--we threw it on the BBQ and made some rice and veggies. Thanks for the great marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This is awesome!! If I could give it 10 stars I would! Use as a marinade, over noodles with or without veggies, hot or at room temp (like cold sesame noodles) or in a stir fry thickened with a little cornstarch!! Definately add the lemon juice - it adds a very nice tone. I usually add some sesame oil and garlic (either powder or minced) as well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I like this recipe, but it needed some sesame seeds, sesame oil, and green onions. With those ingredients added, this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I didn't have any Korean chile paste and I don't often use enough of it to buy a jar. So I substituted half the amount in crushed dried red chile pepper powder, a clove of garlic (it isn't Korean without garlic), a bit of white pepper and a few drops of toasted sesame seed oil. I put the chicken in the marinade one morning, but couldn't get to it until the next night, 48 hours later. I was afraid it would be too salty, but after I broiled it in the oven, my husband announced "it's a keeper!" Served over steamed rice with coleslaw on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
Full circle! I'm an American living in Korea and I have shared this recipe with Koreans who absolutely love it! Locally chicken sticks are more popular than teriyaki (Japanese) bowls. These are milder and meatier than yakitori in Japan. They are made with thigh meat and they taste great already. My marinade has made the stand I shared it with MUCH more successful. This is certainly sufficient research for a commercial venture. If the pattern of American's here is any indication, such a stand at a ball park, a street corner, an airport or a campus would be fantastically successful. So Il-Byung means private first class So in Korean. One can only assume that this guy (or maybe a gal) studied Korean in the Army or lived over here and pickled up the culture. But the chicken bowls mentioned are a U.S. phenomenon. Scott
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Delicious, Delicious, Delicious. I cut up some chicken tenderloins and stir-fried them in this sauce and ate it over rice. I occasionally use this in place of soy sauce when I stir-fry veggies as well. I usually keep a batch of this in my fridge to use on the asain dishes I make. Don't know how this works on other cuts of meat, but the chicken seems to dance with this on it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very easy to prepare and loved by my 1 year old up to my 19 year old. (kid friendly) I used Schezuan sauce for the chile paste since I couldn't find that, and it wasn't too hot for the kids. I stir fried it instead of grilling it-the sauce made so much, I marinaded the chicken for several hours in most of the sauce, but I reserved 1 cup. To this, I added 2 Tbsp. cornstarch, and set aside. I stir fried vegetables, and poured the remaining marinade over cooked vegetables and served this with the chicken. It had a wonderful flavor and my kids ate all their vegetables, (as well as their chicken) Can't wait to try this grilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
A keeper for sure! I used fresh ginger and added a bit of fresh garlic as well, I have used this sauce as a marinade for chicken breasts, which I later grilled. Equally popular, I poured the sauce over chicken thighs and cooked in a crock pot. Both ways the chicken was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Marinade for Chicken

This versatile marinade is great for grilling chicken, and is simple to make.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States