Korean BBQ Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
wow. I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of the white. 4 cloves of garlic, fresh ginger, 3 teaspoons of chili paste. Yummmmmmmm! I used this on chicken tenders that marinated overnight then grilled. Served with mac n cheese, which was good, but my family would have preferred rice. Very tasty, a little sweet and nice kick. I think I will use the 4 teaspoons next time, I have never cooked with the chili paste so wasn't sure how hot it was. Overall, great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Followed suggestions as other reviewers by cutting down the sugar by 1/3, used low sodium soy sauce & also cut down to 2/3 C. Used fresh minced onions, minced garlic & ginger as well. Fresh ingredients really do make a difference. Heated some reserved sauce for dipping. The ingredients used here are generally in most Asian recipes - don't really see how this is "Korean" except maybe it has the chili paste. Also, the description says "four tablespoons [of chili paste] is usually as much as anyone can take" but the ingredients listed calls for 4 teaspoons hot chili paste. There must be a typo somewhere - 4 TBS is much more than 4 tsp. Definitely worth keeping for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Simple, yet delicious! Added a mined garlic clove and dried red pepper. Didn't add as much sugar as called for. Turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great and easy marinade. Followed other reviewers' suggestions and added sesame oil, fresh garlic and red pepper flakes. I saved a half cup of marinade and thickened with cornstarch, but my husband and I did not think think this was needed. The chicken was flavorful enough. Husband is Korean and he really enjoyed this dish! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tobysmomma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
not bad - marinated chicken breasts for 6-8 hrs and baked in the oven for 30 mins. might be better to marinate overnite and prob better on the grill. will add more hot chile paste and soy sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great! Did not have chili paste, so added a pinch of red pepper flakes to the liquid before bringing to a boil. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This marinade was really good! I followed the directions exactly except the 4 teaspoons of hot chile paste. I thought the lemon added a nice touch to the flavor & I used chili powder in place of the paste. I wound up marinating the chicken for only 2 hours (found this recipe at the last minute) & baked the chicken, covered with foil, for a half hour, and then without foil for about 15 minutes to brown/crisp the chicken. It was great! I had followed the suggestions of others to put this on veggies also, but that was "too much" flavor. So my personal recommendation is to only put this on the chicken and let the sides be. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Wow! I have got to say that this marinade is so good! I made half the recipe since it made plenty for the chicken tenderloins that I had. I planned on grilling the chicken and only had about 3 hours of time to marinate. I just made sure to tenderize the chicken with a jaccard to help the marinade to get into the meat better. The end result was absolutely delicious! The meat was so juicy, tender, and most of all, so flavorful! I did add in some crushed garlic to the sauce, along with a little crushed red pepper. I used srirachi in place of the chili sauce, and added a little less since it is very spicy. I love the other ideas of people making a sauce out of this instead of a marinade. I will definitely try that sometime with this. Thanks for this great recipe! It really is good and I plan on making it lots more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Great recipe, but not spicy enough for my family of hot heads. Will add more spice to it next time I make it. Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Saved time by cooking cubed chicken in the sauce, rather than marinating it ahead of time, as another reviewer suggested. I used all of the ingredients but did not use much chile paste. I added in a little sesame oil and served this with brown rice and broccoli. It was very good. If I use this again as a sauce, I might try to thicken it before cooking the chicken in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Marinade for Chicken

This versatile marinade is great for grilling chicken, and is simple to make.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States