Korean BBQ Beef (Pul-Kogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Have made several times and love it. Used the marinade on beef as well as chicken, great on both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I love this recipe. My only mistake was salting the beef before putting it in the marinade. I used low sodium soy sauce and didn't realize its sodium would be enough. Besides for being a little salty it was great! Next time, I won't add more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This marinade is delicious, although I didn't feel like it was traditional Korean BBQ. It tasted more like a basic asian marinade than something spicy which I associate with Korean BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is an absolutely AMAZING and DELICIOUS dish. The flavors in this are tantalizing and I was worried about too much garlic but it was just perfect. I let mine marinade all day and this was so good, it got gobbled up quickly. Well worth getting your rice wine for this recipe. Thanks so much for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I really did not like this recipe. The "Sesame Beef" recipe on here is 10 times better. It may have been partially the meat it called for, as well as a few ingredients. As far as I remember I dumped the left overs...not a family favorite and just didnt do it for us...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I love this recipe! It makes me feel like a pro making this. The results are so impressive. The first time I made these I didn't have rice wine or sesame seeds and I decided I was ok with that. I used white wine instead, but after my first attempt I bought rice wine to get a more authentic asian flavour (and was surprised coz rice wine wasn't so expensive). Also as the pears I use are quite small I use the whole thing. Tips: 1. beef thinly sliced cooks quite fast, esp in soy sauce, so I cook the beef then leave the onions in the pan with the sauce to let them caramelize, then i return the beef to the pan and heat a minute before serving. 2. These are also great for bachelors and bachelorettes who live alone - i cooked a few slices from the bag one night and cooked a few more the next. 3. I like to use more sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplegold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Subsitute the sugar for honey. That is how I usually make it and it taste musch better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I haven't had this in a good twenty years. It's still as yummy as ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
My wife and I thought this was pretty good but our kids (aged 5 and 7) absolutely loved it! They gobbled it down and there were no leftovers. Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bashaw, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This recipe is a keeper! It is simple and delicious and my young children love it. I have made it multiple times with different cuts of steak and it has been tasty every time. I omit the pear and substitute 1/2 tsp of rice wine vinegar for the rice wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States