Korean BBQ Beef (Pul-Kogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Five star recipe! Primarily because of taste, but also because preparation can be done ahead, general presentation can be beautiful, and ingredients are those I have on hand! Very very tasty dish -- and a dish I can use for overnight guests, since I can prep all items ahead of time, be out all day, and come home have it ready in about five minutes. Thanks, Tanya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Michelle
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Really, really, really good. I threw everything in a ziploc and marinated overnight. Cooked the strips on a stove top grill. Served with white rice and "traditional pot stickers" from this site. Thanks so much for the recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was so tasty! I used a London Broil instead of the cut called for, and it still turned out tender! I also used a stove top grill pan, so I was able to save the pear bits and serve them with the beef, too. Extremely good, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Fritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
It was ok, not quite what I thought it'd be. Flavors didn't seem rich enough, perhaps it needed to marinate longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I'm Korean-American and have had Bul-Go-Gi countless times. This is the best recipe, trully authentic as others have stated. Recipes I've tried from Korean cookbooks did not turned out as well as this one did. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is a terrific recipe, every bit as authentic and delicious as the dish I ate in Korea many years ago. My husband & our guests raved about this. We'll have this again! We served with the Korean Cucumber Salad, which was the perfect side dish for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Nothing short of Excellent!!!! I'll be using this one on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I used to live in Korea and have been craving the food recently. This is my first time making this dish and it came out awesome. I had to substitute the rice wine for just a white wine, used honey instead of sugar, and an apple instead of a pear. I just didnt have these things around, but it came out awesome anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was very very good! My husband and I both loved it. I followed the recipe, except I didn't have any rice wine, so I used rice wine vinegar, and I added a tablespoon of sesame chili oil for a little bit of heat. It was awesome and I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I marinated the short ribs, chicken, and mushroom (all in the sauce) for 24 hours and I ate them today. SO GOOD! Tasted just like the ribs I had in a Korean BBQ restaurant in Toronto! The only thing was even though I split the meat into several zipped bags and laid them down flat to have as much contact with the sauce as possible, some of the meat did not soak in the sauce. Next time I'll double the portions for the sauce to make sure the meat are marinated well. Thanks for the recipe! It's definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States