Korean BBQ Beef (Pul-Kogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Followed directions-only variation was to add 1 small habanero peppers thinly sliced because we like a little heat without meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Schoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I got turned onto Korean BBQ in Berkeley of all places and came across this one day and tried it out. It was absolutely delicious. I modified it a little though. I used shredded angus beef which made the meat so delicious. As not a big fan of ginger (I know, weird) I nixed that and the second time I used an entire pear (a "cooking pear") because I loved the sweetness the first time. I let it sit in a freezer bag as long as I can handle as I think this is the key to a great result. I used "sushi" soy sauce which I don't know how different it is and I chose to use brown rice instead of white. I didn't have any rice wine vinegar so I just didn't use any and it was still FANTASTIC. I also used organic granulated white sugar (all I had) but unsure how that changed the flavor. Personally I think that thai sauce (sriracha) (that red pasty stuff with the green lid and all the asian writing on it) is *mandatory*. It has vinegar in it. To me that brings this dish home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was really good and simple to do.I added onions cut up in wedges, 1 grated carrot and the green onions to make it a complete meal.Didn't have rice wine so used white wine instead. Marinated only 1.5 hours and was still very tasty.Served with white rice and Miso soup.Will surely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe is phenomenal! Im not usually one who likes to combine fruit and meat but in this particular instance, the combination of flavors was absoutely delicious. All in all, it tasted like authentic Korean Bulgogi/Pul-Kogi from a restaurant. Thinly sliced meat like that is called for in the recipe can be difficult to find; I suggest going to your local supermarket butcher and buy fresh sirloin there and have them slice it thin for you, free of charge. The thinness of the meat is very important in this recipe; too thick and its just not the same. Also if you are using a pan, dont stir the meat around too much. When you initially place the meat in the pan, let it sizzle for a bit and get a nice brown color and then flip the pieces over to sizzle on the reverse side. Serve with rice and fresh Kimchee and voila...an absolutely delicious, incomparable dinner that will wow everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gungerly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
From my experience with bulgogi recipes a 2:1 soy sugar ratio provides a salty result. I used 3T instead of 4 and 1T honey, 1T sugar and and grated apple instead of pear, and it turned out great. If you don't have rice wine, just leave it out rather than using rice wine vinegar - it is not the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Very tasty marinade. I used boneless chuck steak, marinated overnight, broiled and then cut into slices. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Great!! Don't overmarinate it or the meat gets salty. 2-3 hours is enough! Also, don't forget to use the sugar, that is what helps it brown when you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was really good and my boyfriend loved it. I doubled the sauce as suggested but I found it to be a bit salty even though I used low sodium soy sauce. I will make this again but need to figure out a way to reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Absolutely wonderful dish! I did not change the recipe a bit, and it's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
tasted very good but meat wasn't as tender as i expected. next time i will slice it really thin, i had it about 1/4" thickness this time. nice flavor but not "to die for". i used apple cider vinegar cause i couldn't fine rice wine...maybe that changed it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaffney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States