Korean Barbequed Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
We modified this recipe a bit. I put all of it except the onion and lettuce in the slow cooker on low for several hours along with some chopped up ginger. Then shredded the meat and put it back in with the liquid. We made this into tacos with a slaw of cabbage, the green onion, radishes, cilantro, plain Greek yogurt, and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Very tasty recipe and easy to prepare. Not sure how authentic it is, but delicious regardless. 4 stars instead of 5 because I felt the depth of flavor just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I marinated the meat for about 36 hours. The first day, I wasn't a fan of the flavor. It didn't taste authentic I thought. The next day, it tasted really good. Not sure why but the flavor kind of mellowed and evened out. Still not what I've had at Korean BBQ restaurants, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
i really like this recipe , ill use low sodium soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Fantastic, tastes just like my Korean friend's BBQ Beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
While it may not be the most authentic Korean dish (my Korean mother-in-law would chuckle), I'm not sure how some of the people on here get off saying it would be better stir-fried versus grilled. If you stir-fry it, it's a completely different dish. Just based on food chemistry alone, it would be different. As for finding the pepper paste, look for this Sunchang Gochujang. It's a very good and popular gochujang. Most Asian markets will lean to one ethnicity over others while serving the broader Asian population of their market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Fam really, really loved it. The chili paste is HOT, so I need to watch that next time. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This had great flavor and made us all happy. Served over rice it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was in the Baltimore Sun about 10 years ago. Since that time, friends and I have made it when we get together, as it is so easy and we all LOVE it. (even the Korean friend whose dad is an amazing cook) I was always losing my copies, electronic and paper, so it's nice to know I have it saved here. I have made it without the chile paste for the kids, and it is still good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Would not make again. There are many other Korean recipies on here that are much better. Try the Korean BBQ chicken. My family liked the marinade better and beef and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States