Kookie Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe surprised me. I thought it would just taste like crunchy cookies but the butter and sugar caramelized a bit which gave them a slight toffee flavour. I didn't change anything in the recipe except to add a bit of cinnamon just because I felt like it. I cut it into bars with a pizza cutter as soon as it was out of the oven and it broke nicely into pieces when it cooled. I made it because I didn't have eggs but I will choose to make it again because it is yummy! Next time I'm going to see what they taste like with brown sugar instead of white. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Too rich and not in a good way. I even tried adding bananas (as one of the reviews said) but I didn't like it. My brother (who eats anything) said it was pretty good. You should be the judge!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I picked this recipe because it doesn't have eggs in it and I wanted to bake it with my toddler. The flavor was too strong, almost bitter, and the texture made it hard to chew. Maybe I did something wrong, but I won't be making this again. On the plus side, the dough didn't taste as bad as the finished cookie, so it would be good if you want that raw dough taste without worrying about salmonella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
My husband and I wanted cookies and didn't have any eggs we use this one and it came out great. I added 3 ripe bananas and chocolate chips and green sugar sprinkles mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
It's a really good brittle. I wanted cookies, but had no eggs - this was a good alternative. Didn't blow my mind, but tasty just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XmasBeba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I toasted the pecans - tastes almost like toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This is a very simple recipe with nice end results. I used half whole wheat and half all purpose flour. I used salted buter and should have adjusted the amount of salt because it was a little too salty for me. so, if you use salted butter either reduce or skip the salt in the recipe. I used toasted pecans and it was wonderful. I think I'll make this again with unsalted butter and possibly try almonds or walnuts to see which I like more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amelia
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe is great. It can also be made with Butterscotch Chips and Walnuts or Vanilla Chips and Macadamia Nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I originally made this recipe because I had no eggs. I love it and have made it a few times since then. Using real butter is a must--it makes them so good! I like to use mini chocolate chips. Also, after taking the cookie sheet out of the oven, I let it sit for a few minutes and, using a small sharp knife, cut the cookies into 1"x2" rectangles and let them cool completely. They look very nice on a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States