Kongnamool (Korean Soybean Sprouts) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I have never had this before, so I cannot rate it based on what it should taste like. However, I thought this was very good and easy and budget-friendly (since I had all ingredients on-hand except for the soybean sprouts and chile). I did not use the Korean chile, because I did not have time to go to a specialty store, but I did mix in some red pepper flakes. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I always use a large bag of soybean sprout simply because it has a nicer texture and the added crunch from the soybean gives it a better taste overall. I boiled my sprouts in hot water for 1 minute, then drained in a colander. For the seasoning, I did not use the full 1/4 cup of sesame oil called for in the recipe. It is a tad bit too much sesame oil and a waste of oil. I was taught to just eye ball and season to taste. For the most part I usually start with maybe 2T, then mix and taste. I left out the rice wine vinegar. I also used two green onioin stalks, finely sliced, a little rock salt to taste, and a sprinkle of sesame seeds, which were toasted in a pan. I leave out the korean hot chili pepper for personal preference. (most of my family cannot handle the spiciness). However, you don't need to add a lot of the korean pepper as it will get stronger as it marinates. I make sure all the sauce coats the sprouts well before chilling. I let the sprouts sit in the refrigerater to marry for a few hours before eating, though you could eat it right away. The flavor is much better when you let it sit for a while. I serve this with, "Kalbi(korean bbq ribs)," and "Korean-style Seaweed Soup," also on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
My boyfriend said this was the best he has ever had and we go to alot of resturants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
The soybean sprouts should have the actual soybean on the end (yellow). You can usually find them like this at an Asian/Korean Market. Our local grocery store doesn't carry the sprouts with the bean on the end. Otherwise, this recipe was spot on. Be careful with how much rice wine vinegar you add (go slow). Also, I had to blanch my sprouts for longer than 15 seconds; more like 1 to 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kastro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I love this stuff... definitely a acquired taste if you haven't eaten it before but give it a chance!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessam888
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I used soy bean sprouts (instead of mung bean). I enjoy the large bean on the tip for added texture and what I think is a much better flavor (somewhat sweet). I am a huge sesame oil fan but if you are watching calories you can use an 1/8 cup instead of the 1/4 cup and it still has plenty of sesame flavor. I blanch the beans for a minute or two. I skip the vinegar. I don't care for it in this recipe as I do other Korean recipes. My husband is Korean and he thought this recipe was delicious! My Korean mother in law is an amazing cook and I like this recipe better than hers. Please don't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessam888

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Just like my Korean grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Hickman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great recipe. Used a little less seasame oil and still tasted fine. Truly the taste I remember when I was living in Korea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These soybean sprouts were delicious. The chili sauce/paste was a bit too smoky, but I didn't knock off any points to my rating bc I used regular chili poweder in lieu of Korean chili powder (as I didn't have the Korean type on hand). This might have made a difference on the smokiness. I balanced it out with the juice of 1 lime and a splash of rice vinegar. (I also followed previous posters' advice and lessend the amount of sesame oil. The paste/sauce was quite tasty when mixed in with the sprouts. The recipe as is was deserving of my 5star rating. However, I chose to add something crunchy: I sauteed raw top ramen noodles, slivered almonds and sesame seeds with butter on a skillet and then toasted them in the oven. I crumbled them up over the sprouts and it was just the right touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This was really good, but it didn't taste like kim chi at all. I don't know if my sprouts were mung bean or soybean, but they worked! I started timing once the water came back to a boil and they came out perfect. I didn't have Korean chili powder so I used cayenne (a lot less than 2 Tbsp. ), a little less sesame oil, and I used finely chopped leeks instead of green onions cuz that's all I had. Came out fantastic. The longer it sat, the better the flavors melded. I've added this to my recipe box and will definitely make it again. I'm sure the dressing would go very well on other lightly blanched veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States