Kongnamool (Korean Soybean Sprouts) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
My boyfriend said this was the best he has ever had and we go to alot of resturants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very good =) Be careful with the rice wine vinegar though, I added just a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Very tasty! I actually thought there was a little too much sesame oil, but other than that, a great blend of flavors! We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
The soybean sprouts should have the actual soybean on the end (yellow). You can usually find them like this at an Asian/Korean Market. Our local grocery store doesn't carry the sprouts with the bean on the end. Otherwise, this recipe was spot on. Be careful with how much rice wine vinegar you add (go slow). Also, I had to blanch my sprouts for longer than 15 seconds; more like 1 to 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kastro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I love this stuff... definitely a acquired taste if you haven't eaten it before but give it a chance!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I prefer to use the regular bean sprouts from the grocery store rather then the ones with the pod on the end. I find the pod too strong of a taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessam888
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I used soy bean sprouts (instead of mung bean). I enjoy the large bean on the tip for added texture and what I think is a much better flavor (somewhat sweet). I am a huge sesame oil fan but if you are watching calories you can use an 1/8 cup instead of the 1/4 cup and it still has plenty of sesame flavor. I blanch the beans for a minute or two. I skip the vinegar. I don't care for it in this recipe as I do other Korean recipes. My husband is Korean and he thought this recipe was delicious! My Korean mother in law is an amazing cook and I like this recipe better than hers. Please don't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessam888

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Just like my Korean grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Hickman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I always use a large bag of soybean sprout simply because it has a nicer texture and the added crunch from the soybean gives it a better taste overall. I boiled my sprouts in hot water for 1 minute, then drained in a colander. For the seasoning, I did not use the full 1/4 cup of sesame oil called for in the recipe. It is a tad bit too much sesame oil and a waste of oil. I was taught to just eye ball and season to taste. For the most part I usually start with maybe 2T, then mix and taste. I left out the rice wine vinegar. I also used two green onioin stalks, finely sliced, a little rock salt to taste, and a sprinkle of sesame seeds, which were toasted in a pan. I leave out the korean hot chili pepper for personal preference. (most of my family cannot handle the spiciness). However, you don't need to add a lot of the korean pepper as it will get stronger as it marinates. I make sure all the sauce coats the sprouts well before chilling. I let the sprouts sit in the refrigerater to marry for a few hours before eating, though you could eat it right away. The flavor is much better when you let it sit for a while. I serve this with, "Kalbi(korean bbq ribs)," and "Korean-style Seaweed Soup," also on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great recipe. Used a little less seasame oil and still tasted fine. Truly the taste I remember when I was living in Korea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States