Kona Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I have made this quite a few times over the past year. I have made just a few minor adjustments. 1) I use 2lbs of chicken breast 2) to deal with the dryness -> I cook the meal for about 5-6 hours on low rather than high. The chicken is cooked through, but it isn't dry. 3) To give it a little more flavor -> I add at least 3 garlic cloves, although usually 5 or 6 b/c my family really loves garlic. 4) To decrease the salt -> I use 1/3 c low salt soy sauce to avoid the really salty flavor. It wasn't too salty for me, but my husband said the first time I made it that it was too salty. 5) To thicken some sauce -> I take most of the sauce out of the crock pot and put it in a skillet. I add about 1-2 teaspoons (slowly) of corn starch to thicken the sauce. This has really made the difference in my opinion. We take the sauce and put it over the chicken and rice. With all of these additions, this recipe's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
675 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
((((in an Emeril accent)))) "Oh yeah, babe!" (((((end of Emeril accent))))) This one if fanstinkintastic! Talk about healthy. Talk about easy? Talk about absolutely delicious. This recipe is the ticket. I've been getting into slow cooker recipes ... having purchased a huge new slow cooker recently. Since I love chicken, I was on the hunt for a recipe that would provide an interesting spin on chicken. This recipe did the trick. You just can't go wrong with this one. Do note; I suspect slow cooker cooking times vary significantly. I've noticed that my new large slow cooker seems to often cook recipes in half the time as what the recipe calls for, including this one. Be warned. Thankfully, I checked the chicken after two hours and it was DONE, and I cooked it on LOW. The sauce makes this recipe so awesome ... it almost has a sweet and sour aura about it. Have it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I actually cooked the chicken in the oven instead of the crock pot and it was beyond delicious. I cooked it covered for about one hour and then brushed some honey on top and cooked uncovered for about 20 minutes or until the chicken was a nice orange/brown color. My guests wouldn't leave without the recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I followed many suggestions found in the reviews to make this dish. I first reduced the cooking time in half because I was using chicken breasts and not a whole chicken. I also used 1/3 cup of soy sauce an 2/3 cup of honey in order to make sure the sauce was not too salty since I didn't have low sodium soya sauce on hand. I thickened the sauce after in a small sauce pan and served over rice. Of all the slow cooker chicken I have had so far... This one was the tastiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This chicken was so good! I used skinless boneless chicken breasts so i decreased the cook time, so the chicken didn't dry out! I also added fresh ginger and garlic to the crock pot! When the chicken was done I ladeled some of the sauce into a sauce pan on the stone and reduced it down! I also made egg fried rice with day old cooked rice and peas and green onions and we also added the reduced sauce on top of the rice. My kids (3 and 5) and my hubby loved it! Would definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Delicious! I followed the recipe closely except I used less honey and I used a whole chicken as is. I put a crushed garlic clove inside the chicked along with some green onions. It came out delicious. I think I could have used all the honey and it would still have been fine. I added some sliced potatoes to the crock pot and they absorbed the juices and tasted delicious. I did not thicken the juice since we liked it just the way it was. We poured it over the chicken on our plates to soak it up which made the chicken so juicy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Loved this recipe. Read the warnings about too much salt, so I added extra wine (total almost 1 cup) to the recipe in addition to a couple tablespoons of O.J. The chicken was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was great. I used white onion, and added a clove of garlic and some fresh ginger. Added fresh whole mushrooms - which tasted fab cooked in the sauce. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch at the end and ate over rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Pretty simple and very good. Cutting up the chicken is a bit of work - suggest buying thighs, drumsticks or chicken wings. We also ran out of Honey and decided to use Maple syrup - nice twist on the original recipe. Next time, we'll make double the sauce, add Udon noodles and a few select veggies and serve as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This was very very good! I did it in a caserolle dish for two hours at 300 F and it was delicious. I'll be using the slow cooker method next time and I'm sure that'll be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States