Kona Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
For some reason I just didn't care for this dish. I didn't change anything but it didn't appeal to me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I was worried this chicken would be bland, but it has a really great flavor despite how easy it is to make. I used three boneless skinless breasts and four bone-in thighs and cooked it for four hours on high; it was falling apart by then in my KitchenAid crockpot. I thickened the sauce afterward with some corn starch mixed with a few tablespoons or so of the liquid which I brought to a boil on the stove. I served it over hot buttered rice. I was thinking about what other things I could do to make this taste even better. Maybe some brown sugar? Maybe some pineapple or mango? Maybe a little more honey (I used Tupelo honey by the way). Maybe some different spices like cumin, etc. would brighten it. It's something I will certainly make again and play around with the flavors. Great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Nice sauce and finger licking good. Made this up in the oven quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
It's easy to make, but really lacks flavor. My husband said it was tasty, my kids had to be prodded to eat it, and I couldn't finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
A great option for us because we can't make sweet and sour chicken due to my husbands issues with white sugar. We used organic honey and this was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was ok. Tasted just like teriyaki chicken to me. Was expecting something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe & mine looked nothing like the picture & wasn't exactly the most delicious thing ever. It was pretty greasy & grey looking. I ended up deboning the leftovers & using it like any other deboned chicken - nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
All I could taste was the soy sauce. I followed the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
My family liked this one a lot and want it to be a keeper. I wasn't completely sold on it - tasted like every other crock pot recipe for chicken. It was ok, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States