Kona Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Lindsay Anderson
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I added garlic powder and ginger, thickened the juice with cornstarch to make a sauce to pour over the chicken which I sliced, and garnished with more chopped green onion. I served it over rice. Mine was a little overcooked, but that's my crockpot's fault, not the recipe's! Overall we liked it, although I wouldn't say it was one of our faves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Delicious! I ran out of honey at about 1/3 cup so I substituted maple syrup for the rest. I might put more green onion in next time, because they are so delicious in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Great when made with less water. I thicken the sauce with corn starch before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Quick. Easy. Delicious. I took the suggestions of another review, and added a couple of chopped garlic cloves to the mixture. I used skinned chicken quarters. After chicken was done, I reduced the sauce, and added just a bit of cornstarch for thickening. The family loved it, even the very particular 5 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Blech. Sadly, after reading so many great reviews, no one at my house cared for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Easy and tasty but needs something to make it really stand out and I'm not sure what that is. Worth experimenting with - thinking maybe some apple or pineapple chunks would make it more exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
How good was this? I was so skeptical at first, but my husband and I both absolutely loved it. This dish will be a regular on our menus. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I love the idea of using a slow cooker and having my meal done when I get home from work. Unfortunately I don’t always have great results with my slow cooker. Not so with this, the chicken had a nice texture and taste. I agree that it could be tweaked somewhat to give it more flavor but overall it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
A very nice, basic recipe that worked really well for a thrown-together meal. Open to lots of additions and substitutions, which is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was super yummy! I did add quite a bit of extra stuff....but it is a great base. I added 4 garlic cloves, 1 tlbs of chopped ginger, 1 tsp of sesame oil. Cut the soya in half, and added about and 1/4 cup hoisen sauce. I cooked the chicken whole on high for 6 hours, but was done at about 4.5 hours. THe sauce was so yummy! I made salad rolls with the left over chicken and use the sauce to dip them in. Next time I am going to add some crushed pineapple and red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States