Kona Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
We didn't really care for this recipe (sorry). However, I made Chinese Fried Rice I with the leftovers and was pleased with the extra flavor the chicken added to the fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
It wasn't AWFUL... but the smell coming out of the crock pot sure was. The dish itself was just bland. I even added some garlic before cooking. Towards the end, I added a bit of brown sugar and extra soy sauce, but it was too late. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I though the sauce was too thin. it was an okay recipe but i wont make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
There's nothing wrong with this recipe. I have no idea how it has acquired such a poor rating. This recipe makes a very thin sauce which needs to be removed and thickened with cornstarch, but otherwise, it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I put this in my crock pot to cook, and although looking back it was a little mushy if I put some of the vegetables in later it would have been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Wow, this recipe had the perfect ratio of sweet and salty! I added some garlic and orange juice for my family's tastes, and used chicken breasts. Served over short-grain rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lycoris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Really good.... Chicken was a little dry. I added 3 cloves of garlic and next time going to add a can of pineapple chunks to give it that teriyaki flare. This is a must try recipe for the person on the go that wants a good cooked meal without the fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was easy and excellent. I used vut up thighs and legs. I will say it cooked faster than I thought. I ddi add garlic like someone else suggested. My 5 year old and 2 year old couldn't get enough. Some people thought it was too salty. I didn't since I used skin-on meat. I think the skin absorbed the excess salt from the soy sauce because I thought it to be just right. I could see it being too salty if there was no skin to balance (the skins adds flavor to the cooking but we dodn't eat it). We'll definitely add this to out menu again. I love finding crockpot recipes that don't include pork or read meat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Yum! Simple, easy dinner, good over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I've made this a few times and followed the directions pretty closely. The only change I made was to add cornstarch at the end as others have suggested and I used chicken tenderloins. I also used cooking sherry once and it turned out just as good! I've taken this to potlucks and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States