Kona Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was perfect - didn't change a thing. Will be on HIGH rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Honey wasn't bad, easy in the crck pot, was expecting more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunningD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Tasty chicken but something was missing. I added Sesame oil and that didn't help. I even made fried rice. Perhaps some toasted sesame seeds? Pretty good for company dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
It was different, which I liked, but it was very salty. Needs some tinkering...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
A VERY tasty dish! I didn't need to cook the whole recipe, so i used 3 boneless breasts and halved the sauce ingredients (using low-sodium soy). After a couple hours, the sauce tasted a bit bland so i added some peanut oil and a bit more honey and soy sauce. At the end i removed the meat, poured the sauce into a pan and thickened it with 3 T. cornstarch dissolved in 1/2 cup water. The sauce was YUM with the chicken served over rice; definitely worth the extra work. Next time i'll cook this on Low for 5 hours, because the honey took on a slight burnt flavor in my slow-cooker on High.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I used boneless/skinless thighs and they cooked up nicely. the sauce was a bit bland...no, rather it was one dimentional and cooking the green onions for so long made them bitter. I suggest adding them later. I also added garlic as suggested by others, and I added crushed pineapple, but still the sauce was not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I made the following changes: used boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into small strips, added two cloves of garlic to the sauce, along with 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger, and substituted chicken stock for the water and white wine. Simmered in a pan on the stove until done. Served with brown rice and sauteed vegetables, using some of the sauce with the veggies and spooned over the rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
We didn't really care for this recipe (sorry). However, I made Chinese Fried Rice I with the leftovers and was pleased with the extra flavor the chicken added to the fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
It wasn't AWFUL... but the smell coming out of the crock pot sure was. The dish itself was just bland. I even added some garlic before cooking. Towards the end, I added a bit of brown sugar and extra soy sauce, but it was too late. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I though the sauce was too thin. it was an okay recipe but i wont make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States