Kona Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very easy and pretty good. I think I'll try doing it on low for longer next time. We took the sauce and thickened it up with a bit of flour in a skillet afterwards. I served it with rice and some veggies, it made a good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
quick, easy, average tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I thought this was ok. The flavor was ok but seemed to need something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was perfect - didn't change a thing. Will be on HIGH rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Honey wasn't bad, easy in the crck pot, was expecting more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunningD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Tasty chicken but something was missing. I added Sesame oil and that didn't help. I even made fried rice. Perhaps some toasted sesame seeds? Pretty good for company dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
It was different, which I liked, but it was very salty. Needs some tinkering...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
A VERY tasty dish! I didn't need to cook the whole recipe, so i used 3 boneless breasts and halved the sauce ingredients (using low-sodium soy). After a couple hours, the sauce tasted a bit bland so i added some peanut oil and a bit more honey and soy sauce. At the end i removed the meat, poured the sauce into a pan and thickened it with 3 T. cornstarch dissolved in 1/2 cup water. The sauce was YUM with the chicken served over rice; definitely worth the extra work. Next time i'll cook this on Low for 5 hours, because the honey took on a slight burnt flavor in my slow-cooker on High.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I used boneless/skinless thighs and they cooked up nicely. the sauce was a bit bland...no, rather it was one dimentional and cooking the green onions for so long made them bitter. I suggest adding them later. I also added garlic as suggested by others, and I added crushed pineapple, but still the sauce was not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I made the following changes: used boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into small strips, added two cloves of garlic to the sauce, along with 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger, and substituted chicken stock for the water and white wine. Simmered in a pan on the stove until done. Served with brown rice and sauteed vegetables, using some of the sauce with the veggies and spooned over the rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States