Kona Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Sorry, tried this recipe and did not like it at all. Very salty using the soy sauce. I won't do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I will definitely make this again. It was so easy and really good! I gave it 4 stars vs 5 because I tweaked the recipe. I reduced the amount of soy sauce to 1/2 the amount the recipe called for. I used low sodium soy sauce. Instead of chicken breast, I used boneless skinless chicken thighs, and cooked them in the crockpot for 4 hours on low. I added: 3 cloves of garlic, grated some fresh ginger. The last hour of cooking, I added whole mushrooms. The last 10 mins, I added broccoli. Served it over steamed rice and everyone loved it. You could easily add other veggies or maybe even some pineapple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This WAS easy but not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
So easy and so delicious. I used a whole cut-up chicken and while cooking the 4 hours on high, the house was filled with the most wonderful aroma. With a lot of restraint, I did not eat the entire chicken myself; it tasted so wonderful, I believe I could have. My husband raved about it and asked that the recipe be put into the "use again soon" category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Kansas, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I must have done something wrong, because this was just horrible. I tried it this weekend, so I was home while it was cooking in the crockpot. I had a feeling it wasn't going to work out well, since it didn't even smell good while cooking. I follwed the recipe exactly (usually don't experiment until after I try a recipe as written).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe. I also added garlic to the sauce. I then thicken the sauce before serving. I will cook this again!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I tried this recipe using butterflied pork chops. Yummmmm. We don't have wine so I used orange juice in place of the wine. This was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I'm shocked that I didn't like this after all the positive reviews it got. There was waaaaaaaaay too much soy sauce and the chicken didn't really take on the flavor. We definitely won't have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was really not good. I would actually say horrible. I'm pretty upset about the waste of chicken. I made it exactly as stated, and when I tried it at the end, I couldn't believe how bad the sauce was, so I dumped in some crushed pineapple I had and let it go another hour. It helped a little, but all in all, a really bad dinner. Oh, how I hate throwing food away, but looks like that's where this one's headed. Oh bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I prepared this for family as we celebrated our new Family Holiday weekend in February. Everyone enjoyed it. The only changes I made were similar to some of the other reviewers, I used 1/3 cup low salt soy and 2/3 cup honey as well as chicken breasts. I totally forgot the cornstarch but it turned out great! Thanks so much for the recipe and the added reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States