Kona Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I planned to make this recipe but only had two hours, so I marinated the chicken in the sauce and then bbq'd it. I boiled the marinade down to a glaze and glazed the chicken pieces when they were done. After trying this in the slow cooker at a later date, I think the marinated and bbq'd chicken was better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Derkson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I followed the directions exactly and it came out tasting ok, but but did not look anything like the picture. the sauce was thin and was not the thick reddish sauce in the picture. I was disappointed by this. Some people in other reviews poured out the sauce and made a gravy to pour over it by reducing it in a saucepan and thickening with corn starch or gravy flour. I will give this one more try using that tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
didn't like it enough to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was ok but I have tried other sweet and sour chicken recipes that were far better. Simple enough and the flavour was ok. I guess my hopes were higher with this due to the wine inclusion however, I was a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Um... this ROCKED. I don't usually love the slow cooker recipes on this site, I've found they tend to be bland. The only minor changes I made was adding some garlic, seasoning the chicken first and using bonless skinless breasts (had to reduce cook time to about two hours). They have great flavor. I didn't thicken the sauce this time but I will next time. It's definitely a good dish and I am happy I made it. For how easy it is it's definitely worthy of happening again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very tasty...I added some chopped garlic and ginger. Also used chicken breasts and cooked for three hours on LOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lynn
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was a disaster. It looked very nice but the overall taste was unimpressive. I found the chicken was not "falling off the done" after 7 hrs of cooking. All measurements and ingredients were used according to the recipe. To make it worse this smelled repulsive the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Letohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Mmmmm mmmm good! This is beyond easy and so tasty. A couple of modifications I made- I used about two lbs. of chicken breasts out of preference. I added 2 minced garlic cloves and 1 tsp. sesame oil... we add garlic to everything! I only had to cook for 4 hours on LOW. It was fall-apart perfect! In the end, I whisked 1 cup of flour with water in a separate bowl, added it to the slow cooker juice (chicken was on a separate plate), and poured that mixture into a sauce pan. After boiling for 1 minute, it was thick and perfect! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Fabulous!! I used red wine because that's what I had at home and after tasting it I think the white would not be strong enough for my taste- a fortunate change! In the crockpot I also added a couple sliced carrots. I served it on a bed of rice, with a layer of sauteed greens, and topped with the chicken, carrots and sauce. Can I say again? Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States