Kolachky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I am a professional chef and regularly use this site for ideas, recipes and feedback. I will never rate a recipe unless it is excellent because I feel personal tastes don't ensure proper criticism. But in the case where a recipe is absolutely superb, I will give my feedback and this cookie recipe is one of the best I have tried here. I added 1/2 cup of sugar, 1 tsp of salt and 1 oz of Canadian Club Whiskey only because I wanted to enhance the creaminess of the cream cheese, and blend the flavors with the alcohol. I also remember my slovak grandmother using whiskey when she made these cookies. Your recipe brought back many happy memories. Great recipe! Thanks*****!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Al

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My Mom is American born but 100% Hungarian and we both make these, although we also make apricot and prune filled 'cakes' as well as the nut. My family calls them 'little cakes' for some reason. To make a truer apricot filling than pie filling, we buy the dried apricots, then boil them until soft, then mash with sugar and a little vanilla. The prunes get the same method but no vanilla. Much better than pie filling. Also, to keep your cakes neat and not split open, make sure you pinch the corners over the filling. I then twist the dough ends after pinching to make them look pretty. We also bake them at 375 for 9-11 minutes vs. 350 degrees. I've been making these for over 30 years, since I was a small child helping my Mom and Grandma in the kitchen, and they're by far my favorite cookie of all time. Enjoy! BTW--they freeze well, just don't dust with confectioner's sugar until you serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redding, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Every year at Christmas time my Polish great grandmother would make these. This is the closest I have found to her recipe. My grandma would make them round however. I find that the smaller you make these, the less time you bake them, and the moister they come out. I suggest using a shot glass (dip the rim of the glass in flour to prevent sticking). Fill with your choice of filling and fold 2 sides in towards the center (pinch to secure) or even just leave them flat. Either way these little beauties come out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I just made these this afternoon as a suprise for my husband (he is 1/2 Czech). They turned out great! He said they looked store bought. I used apricot filling instead of the poppyseed. If you make both the fillings - cut back the walnut version to half - I had a ton of the walnut mixture leftover. Worth the 3 hours it took to make these - they will be on the annual christmas cookie list. Thanks for a yum-yum receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
My husband could not get enough of these. I used different fillings also such as apricot and raspberry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
They're just like the ones my Grandmother from Czechoslovakia use to make. She never learned to write in English, so I wasn't able to reproduce those wonderful little cookies until now. I'm teaching my 11 yo niece and 7 yo daughter to make them so they too can carry on a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These cookies were pretty good! I had a hard time understanding how to shape them around the filling, but I ultimately decided to just bring 2 opposite corners of each square up and over the filling and pinch them together on top. They were pretty and tasted great. I think no matter how you shape them they are likely to be tasty. Great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Perfection. Used the shot-glass (unfolded) method, just like my Mom used to when I was a kid. I used Solo apricot filling - I could eat them all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I have never tried making these myself before and these turned out very well. Recipe was a lot simpler than I thought it would be. Cream cheese, butter and flour. That's it! Second time I made them, I wanted to go for a low fat version and used fat-free cream cheese and low fat butter. Taste was the same but the texture came out a little rubbery. It's an ok sacrifice to enjoy these with a little less guilt that way. I didnt make the walnut filling and just bought canned filling in Poppyseed, Apricot and Rasberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I ditched my old recipe for this one. This was the easiest dough that I ever worked with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States