Kolachky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
They're just like the ones my Grandmother from Czechoslovakia use to make. She never learned to write in English, so I wasn't able to reproduce those wonderful little cookies until now. I'm teaching my 11 yo niece and 7 yo daughter to make them so they too can carry on a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I just made these this afternoon as a suprise for my husband (he is 1/2 Czech). They turned out great! He said they looked store bought. I used apricot filling instead of the poppyseed. If you make both the fillings - cut back the walnut version to half - I had a ton of the walnut mixture leftover. Worth the 3 hours it took to make these - they will be on the annual christmas cookie list. Thanks for a yum-yum receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
WONDERFUL!!! These were delicious. They were easier to make than the roll out cookies I usually make. I got SO MANY compliments on them when I added them to my holiday treat baskets, that I'm sure I'll make them again.(Before Christmas rolls around again though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
My husband could not get enough of these. I used different fillings also such as apricot and raspberry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Every year at Christmas time my Polish great grandmother would make these. This is the closest I have found to her recipe. My grandma would make them round however. I find that the smaller you make these, the less time you bake them, and the moister they come out. I suggest using a shot glass (dip the rim of the glass in flour to prevent sticking). Fill with your choice of filling and fold 2 sides in towards the center (pinch to secure) or even just leave them flat. Either way these little beauties come out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
These were delicious and well received. For the filling, I used Solo apricot, poppyseed and cherry. The dough was so easy to work with-it didn't dry out and was very forgiving (my 1- and 3-year olds even helped!). Like the previous reviewer, I cut out rounds and then pinched two sides together. It took me one round to figure out exactly how much filling and how tightly to pinch so that it all looked perfect, but even the ones where the filling sightly oozed or the top separated tasted great. It took a long time, and because of the small circles I did, it made at least twice the four dozen expected. However, it really was well worth it. My Polish mother and grandmother loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I have wanted to make these for years,but could never find a simple recipe,this is SO good,I used Solo fillings as others did. To save some time I also made some with a shot glass cut out and put a thumb print in it and filled that with the filling,they turn out the same! These are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKEYMAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This was very good! The walnut filing was great, my husband ate about 15 of these within 15 minutes of them coming out of the oven. My Bohemian family would take these (with the prune filling my grandma always made) and cover them with heavy cream. The walnut filling is much better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I have never tried making these myself before and these turned out very well. Recipe was a lot simpler than I thought it would be. Cream cheese, butter and flour. That's it! Second time I made them, I wanted to go for a low fat version and used fat-free cream cheese and low fat butter. Taste was the same but the texture came out a little rubbery. It's an ok sacrifice to enjoy these with a little less guilt that way. I didnt make the walnut filling and just bought canned filling in Poppyseed, Apricot and Rasberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Great recipe! Fruit jam also makes a delicious filling for those with nut allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States