Kolachky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is the exact replica of my Granny's recipe (at least in taste) I didn't come across this one when I searched the site probably because we spell it differently in Polish. I tried another that didn't work out well. Thanks allrecipes for daily e-mails and thank you Trish for sharing. This Yule my kids have a little taste of my childhood in Eastern Europe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
AMAZING! Followed exactly, only change was halving the recipe. It made about 50 medium-large kolachky. Filled with homemade apricot jam and baked on parchment. Flaky, rich, sweet, yum. 12/16/2011: Made these again today and they are just soooo good. Not a difficult recipe to follow at all. Do not overmix-it will keep the patry tender. If you haven't worked with kolachky dough before, a half batch is easier to manage. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious! These are now a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bethany
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Awesome, exactly what I was looking for and relatively easy to make. I made raspberry, poppyseed and walnut filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeezaG
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is the recipe I've used for the dough for many years. I roll my dough thinner and I cut my squares smaller, so I get many more cookies out of 1 batch. I like to use jars of apricot filling and prune filling from Baker's. They are always the highlight of my cookie trays at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Delicious! Easy to follow recipe! I like trying different fillings with it. Better then my Czech best friends kolache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very much like a traditional Slovak treat! My grandma and dad were thrilled to hear I had made these for a special Christmas treat. The dough was a little different to work with. Next year I will make smaller treats and let the fillings ooze a little. I used Solo brand poppyseed and apricot fillings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is Very Good! And most important when I rolled it out on wax paper using flour and confectioners' sugar....it was Great! This is certainly a keeper!! So many other recipes like this tend to make me swear during the roll out process!! I got 90 cookies and in my oven they only needed to bake for 14 minutes! Thanks Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I loved this little cookie. However, I tried the poppyseed, and that one didn't make the cut. I did end up purchasing a can of almond filling....and holy moly, it was amazing. The nut mixture was tasty as well. I advise using the almond mixing instead, soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The dough is very easy to make and a breeze to work with. I was surprised how much it fluffed up in the oven. These are really delicious - not too sweet and perfect with apricot or raspberry preserves inside, no matter how you roll them. Personally, I found that the smaller ones I made turned out better... I wrapped them like a wonton - bite sized. This is nice for breakfast/brunch or with coffee any time of day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States