Kolachky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is the exact replica of my Granny's recipe (at least in taste) I didn't come across this one when I searched the site probably because we spell it differently in Polish. I tried another that didn't work out well. Thanks allrecipes for daily e-mails and thank you Trish for sharing. This Yule my kids have a little taste of my childhood in Eastern Europe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
AMAZING! Followed exactly, only change was halving the recipe. It made about 50 medium-large kolachky. Filled with homemade apricot jam and baked on parchment. Flaky, rich, sweet, yum. 12/16/2011: Made these again today and they are just soooo good. Not a difficult recipe to follow at all. Do not overmix-it will keep the patry tender. If you haven't worked with kolachky dough before, a half batch is easier to manage. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious! These are now a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bethany
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Awesome, exactly what I was looking for and relatively easy to make. I made raspberry, poppyseed and walnut filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeezaG
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is the recipe I've used for the dough for many years. I roll my dough thinner and I cut my squares smaller, so I get many more cookies out of 1 batch. I like to use jars of apricot filling and prune filling from Baker's. They are always the highlight of my cookie trays at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Delicious! Easy to follow recipe! I like trying different fillings with it. Better then my Czech best friends kolache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very much like a traditional Slovak treat! My grandma and dad were thrilled to hear I had made these for a special Christmas treat. The dough was a little different to work with. Next year I will make smaller treats and let the fillings ooze a little. I used Solo brand poppyseed and apricot fillings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is Very Good! And most important when I rolled it out on wax paper using flour and confectioners' sugar....it was Great! This is certainly a keeper!! So many other recipes like this tend to make me swear during the roll out process!! I got 90 cookies and in my oven they only needed to bake for 14 minutes! Thanks Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I loved this little cookie. However, I tried the poppyseed, and that one didn't make the cut. I did end up purchasing a can of almond filling....and holy moly, it was amazing. The nut mixture was tasty as well. I advise using the almond mixing instead, soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The dough is very easy to make and a breeze to work with. I was surprised how much it fluffed up in the oven. These are really delicious - not too sweet and perfect with apricot or raspberry preserves inside, no matter how you roll them. Personally, I found that the smaller ones I made turned out better... I wrapped them like a wonton - bite sized. This is nice for breakfast/brunch or with coffee any time of day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States