Kolachky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My Mom is American born but 100% Hungarian and we both make these, although we also make apricot and prune filled 'cakes' as well as the nut. My family calls them 'little cakes' for some reason. To make a truer apricot filling than pie filling, we buy the dried apricots, then boil them until soft, then mash with sugar and a little vanilla. The prunes get the same method but no vanilla. Much better than pie filling. Also, to keep your cakes neat and not split open, make sure you pinch the corners over the filling. I then twist the dough ends after pinching to make them look pretty. We also bake them at 375 for 9-11 minutes vs. 350 degrees. I've been making these for over 30 years, since I was a small child helping my Mom and Grandma in the kitchen, and they're by far my favorite cookie of all time. Enjoy! BTW--they freeze well, just don't dust with confectioner's sugar until you serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redding, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
We call these Kifli's (that's the Hungarian name for them) and we've been making the walnut version forever. They're absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
we make these every year for christmas. they are my absolute favorite cookie ever. our favorite fillings are almond and raspberry though, not too traditional, but fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Well, this went over very well at my house. My boyfriend's grandfather was Czech, and I've been hearing about Kolachky for years. I halved the recipe and didn't make the nuts (only used poppyseed), because he's told me that he didn't like the nut ones (so I can't comment on the nut filling). I also prepared it the same way his grandmother did -- rolled the dough into two rectangles, spread the filling over top of each, rolled them up, brushed on an eggwash, and then cut them into slices after they were baked. I'd never had it before to compare it to another recipe, but my boyfriend raved! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caitlynn
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is definitely one of my favorite recipes. When I was little, my family used to call me the "Kolachky Kid" because of how much I loved kolachky...then I found this recipe a little while back, made it, and renewed my love of the pastry all over again! My family loves them, as well. Definitely a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
These were superb and a lot easier to make than I had imagined. I would say even better than store or bakery bought. The only thing I would like to add is that it takes a lot more flour than 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very good dough, I did add 1/2 tsp vanilla and some lemon zest to freshen up the flavor. I did not make the filling, instead I used jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
My grandpa came from Czechoslovakia and this was the same recipe he used. We typically use sugar instead of honey in the nut filling and also use Solo pie fillings besides poppyseed. Other flavors we use include Pineapple, Apricot, Strawberry, Raspberry, and Cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe brought back memories, My Grandma would make these for us on special occasions, No one could make them as perfectly as she could but this recipe came very close, My Mom and I enjoyed making them and Thank you for sharing it! A few tips, We cut ours out with a diamond shaped cookie cutter but found that the tops popped out if not pinched closed tightly so we used a glass instead and I believe this was the trick becuase they came out bigger and you were able to pinch the top easier and they did not pop open during baking, Course as my Mom says "Grandma would never let me pinch the tops because they would open up and she would gently say "honey let me do them". Also we used canned poppyseed filling and Almond paste, The almond paste is definetely a favorite. I would make these again with my family just to bring an old tradition back into the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I am a professional chef and regularly use this site for ideas, recipes and feedback. I will never rate a recipe unless it is excellent because I feel personal tastes don't ensure proper criticism. But in the case where a recipe is absolutely superb, I will give my feedback and this cookie recipe is one of the best I have tried here. I added 1/2 cup of sugar, 1 tsp of salt and 1 oz of Canadian Club Whiskey only because I wanted to enhance the creaminess of the cream cheese, and blend the flavors with the alcohol. I also remember my slovak grandmother using whiskey when she made these cookies. Your recipe brought back many happy memories. Great recipe! Thanks*****!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Al

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States