Kolaches II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I left out the lemon and made savory sausage\cheese kolaches...this made 30, and my family is RAVING! Fluffy bread, even 3 days later in the microwave! INCREDIBLE!!!!!!! A+++++++++ 5*'s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Just like my family recipe! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I grew up in Texas near a little town called Snook and twice a month on Saturday morning we drove there to the bakery with the best kolaches and sausage rolls. I now live in Florida and get homesick for those tasty treats, the picture looks just like the ones I remember and the recipe was right on. I did not have any lemon when I made my second batch, so I used vanilla in it's place it was still wonderful. I am going to use the dough next weekend for the sausage rolls. Do you have a recipe for the cream cheese filling?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I have been making kolaches for many years since my husband's family are from Czech origin. This recipe passed the family test, all of them thought this recipe was excellent. I use poppy seed and apricot preserves in the recipe. I did turn the oven down to 400 degrees and did have to watch them very closely, but as stated previously, they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Updathe*******I make these kolaches at least twice a month and usually 4-6 dozen at a time. I used the larger cheddar ekrich smok-y breakfast links (they are fully cooked and come in a 12 pack) and the dough makes 2 dozen, which since I eyeball it, some are bigger than others. Once my breadmachine is done, I divide into 24 pieces, roll them out into rectangle shapes and roll the link into the dough and just seal the seam, usually the link sticks out some at each end, then I proof them in my oven on warm for 30 minutes. Take them out long enough for my oven to heat to 325-350 and bake for 7-10 minutes until brown, brush with butter and serve, or COMPLETELY cool and store in fridge. HUMIDITY is huge in how much flour I add when rolling out. I also find leaving the butter soft and adding it in the exact order listed in the recipe works best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmers Branch, Texas, USA
Living In: Perrin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These turned out great. I didn't have lemon extract so used lemon zest, which was fine. I watched them very closely as not to burn the bottoms. Started out with a 400 degree oven, then turned it up for the next batch. Didn't take long for them to bake. Would bake them again but want to try Solo filling. I didn't feel these tasted like a biscuit as another person suggested. They raised light and high. Biscuits are kind of dry but these weren't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
like the ones my great grandma used to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Sue Diehl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
My husband is from a Czech background. He's says these are pretty darn close to how grandma used to make them. I guess that's a great rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xannthippe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
My husband had requested cherry kolache for his birthday breakfast, and this looked like the best option. This is an excellent recipe for kolach. My daughter said that they were the best she's ever had. We live in a town with a lot of Czech heritage, so that means something. I ended up using 5 and 3/4 cups of flour, because the dough was so moist, but they were still extremely light and tender To prevent burning, I baked them on an insulated cookie sheet. That worked very well. I also followed the idea of another poster, and turned a dozen of them into "breakfast" kolach, with finely chopped onion, kielbasa, eggs and 2% sharp cheddar loosely scrambled. The loose, moist scramble set firm in the kolach baking process. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Excellent! I was a little hesitant about the lemon extract but did it anyway and was pleasantly surprised. It added a fresh little bit of citrus to a perfectly sweet dough. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States