Kolaches II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for! I've tried several different kolache and biscuit recipes and this is by far the best. I tried them as written, and also with sausage (minus the lemon extract)...both were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yannazz
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I just made these for our Christmas family gathering and it was a hit! It turned out better than I would have dreamed of!! The dough was perfect-even the next day, still soft and moist. Just amazing! I used apple, cherry and blueberry pie filling and some were made with cream cheese too. They were all so good. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for, so tender and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Followed recipe as written and results were not what I was hoping for. These are not like the kolaches we have in Central Texas. Sorry, but these were more like biscuits than kolaches. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
YUMMY! I made fresh peach pie filling, and an apple cranberry filling to top them with. Also, I made them MUCH bigger than suggested. I used around 1/3 cup dough per kolache and baked them on a silicone liner (keeping a close eye on the bottoms because they definitely do brown more quickly than one might plan on). After removing from the oven, I drizzled them with glaze and then ducked while the family ran me over to get to them. :) They turned out tasting like something half way between a donut and a danish. Soft, sweet and lovely. Next time, I'm going to put some cream-cheese filling (like one would make for a cheese cake, only thicker I think) under the fruit filling. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Updathe*******I make these kolaches at least twice a month and usually 4-6 dozen at a time. I used the larger cheddar ekrich smok-y breakfast links (they are fully cooked and come in a 12 pack) and the dough makes 2 dozen, which since I eyeball it, some are bigger than others. Once my breadmachine is done, I divide into 24 pieces, roll them out into rectangle shapes and roll the link into the dough and just seal the seam, usually the link sticks out some at each end, then I proof them in my oven on warm for 30 minutes. Take them out long enough for my oven to heat to 325-350 and bake for 7-10 minutes until brown, brush with butter and serve, or COMPLETELY cool and store in fridge. HUMIDITY is huge in how much flour I add when rolling out. I also find leaving the butter soft and adding it in the exact order listed in the recipe works best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmers Branch, Texas, USA
Living In: Perrin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
like the ones my great grandma used to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Sue Diehl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These turned out great. I didn't have lemon extract so used lemon zest, which was fine. I watched them very closely as not to burn the bottoms. Started out with a 400 degree oven, then turned it up for the next batch. Didn't take long for them to bake. Would bake them again but want to try Solo filling. I didn't feel these tasted like a biscuit as another person suggested. They raised light and high. Biscuits are kind of dry but these weren't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Sorry. These were like biscuits with jelly in the middle. Not at all like the kolaches we were looking for. The kolaches we have had are more like a roll or donut dough. Followed the recipe exactly as written. Will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILAPPLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I have been making kolaches for many years since my husband's family are from Czech origin. This recipe passed the family test, all of them thought this recipe was excellent. I use poppy seed and apricot preserves in the recipe. I did turn the oven down to 400 degrees and did have to watch them very closely, but as stated previously, they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States