Kolaches I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This is probably the 6th time I've made this recipe and I learn more each time. I now just put all the ingredients in the bowl of my stand mixer(make sure you beat the eggs and yolks first), use milk that is closer to 125 degrees and use the dough hook. It makes the dough more consistent. The dough is still sticky so use gloves. Be sure to brush with shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
These are the Bomb!!! So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
These are really good! I had never had them before so I have nothing to compare them to but my husband loved them also. I made a sweet cream cheese filling (8 oz pkg cream cheese & 1/2 cup powdered sugar) and made 3 different fillings/toppings; just cream cheese, just raspberry preserves and 1/2 cream cheese and 1/2 raspberry preserves. My husband and I both liked the cream cheese/raspberry ones the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I tried this recipe because I couldn’t find my usual recipe for kolaches. I admit I made some minor changes when making this. Because the yield is considerable, I cut the recipe by a fourth. I didn’t use shortening but used butter in the mixture for added richness and an egg wash for a beautiful sheen on the kolaches. The dough was too sticky so I added additional flour to make it more manageable. I chose peach jam, orange marmalade and cream cheese for the fillings which worked out wonderfully. While this was a good recipe, it wasn’t quite as good as my usual recipe so I’m back on the hunt to find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My family is Czech, so I make these often. I use softened butter instead of shortening. Using bread flour instead of AP makes for a lighter, flakier kolache. After you put the yeast in with the milk you need to let it sit atleast 10 minutes until it starts to foam. Also the milk temp should be close to 110 degrees (2 min in the micro is what it takes for me). Too hot and you kill the yeast, not hot enough it will not activate. Add about 3 cups of flour, form a ball, then take it out of the bowl and work the rest of the flour in on the counter. Add additional flour if necessary, but it should still be a little sticky. The reviewer that said this is a batter did something terribly wrong. This is a bread dough type of consistency. Don't "flatten the balls". Instead take your thumb and index fingers on both hands and push the dough out from the center. This will create a deep well with tall sides so that the filling doesn't ooze out. Then I brush mine with melted butter and fill with about a tablespoon or 2 of cherry pie filling (or whatever you like). I am impatient on the 2nd rise, so I place the kolaches in the oven with it on low (170 degrees) for 20 minutes. That will make the second rise go much faster. Then preheat the oven to 375 and bake for about 15 minutes. Should be light golden. I get the best results with an airbake cookie sheet. Dark colored ones will burn the bottoms of the Kolache. This recipe makes about 40 kolaches, not 72. I get 12 per cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
These are good. To me they taste kind of like a biscuit with jelly on top. It didnt "wow" me, but everyone in my family enjoyed them, especially my father who LOVES raspberry so he ate up all the ones with raspberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These turned out so great that my family all say they will never buy a kolache again! The dough was pretty gooey, but, I just added a little extra flour when handling it. I also added about 1/2 cup more sugar. Instead of brushing each ball with shortening, I just greased a cookie sheet and they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Awesome recipe. I have my own variations and use different things. Since fruit preserves can be a little expensive depending on where you are I use pie filling. Apple and Cherry are a big hit in my house. I also do a sweet cream cheese, as well as a sausage and cheese. It is a big hit every time I make them and the recipe can make so many that I have to share them! My neighbors now love kolaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I've been experimenting with Kolache or Kolacky recipes for 2 days. It seems to me this is just a typical sweet dough. And this is a huge recipe! I should have down-sized it. I was overwhelmed with how much dough I ended up with. The recipe was easy to follow, the dough rose nicely, and was easy to handle. I filled them with cherry and apricot, and then dusted them with powdered sugar. They were ok. Nothing real spectacular. Kind of like a small danish. Not real sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made these for my bf who's Czech and has only been in this country for 5 years. I was trying to surprise him so I wouldn't let him in the kitchen while I was making them but as soon as they were done he walks in the kitchen and goes " Kolache!" Needles to say, he devoured them and enjoyed them very much. I also cut in half ( only me and him) and also found that I had to add 3/4 more flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookE86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States