Kolaches From the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is a very good, simple recipe. I made a batch Saturday and they were gone before I knew it and on Sunday I had requests to make a 2nd batch. I followed the dough recipe exactly, but I did not use the fruit filling. I wrapped the dough around cocktail sausages and cheese. I found that sliced chz works better than grated. It melts better is much easier to work with. I wrapped a third of a chz slice around the suausge and then wraped dough around it. Make sure that you seal the dough well so that the chz does not melt out. I think next weekend I will make them with the fruit filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Excellent - we add a sausage & cheese rather than a filling before the final rise and they are incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Great recipe. It was a thrill to make this great tradional bread easily and conveniently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
These were wonderful and so easy. I followed the bread recipe exactly and they were even better than the kolaches that we go to the donut store for. I'm looking forward to making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Harrison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This the best kolache recipe ever! It was easy and the dough was perfect. My husband said they were better than his mother's. East instuctions and excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Made 2 batches of this today and they turned out perfectly!! I substituted baby cereal (the dry flaky kind) for the potato flakes....the baby cereal is better nutrition-wise so thought I would try it since it has the same consistency as instant potatoes. The kolaches turned out light and wonderful! The dough was beautiful, and very easy to work with, too. Served them to 24 people and they were asking for seconds!!! No problem w/my filling running out -- with kolaches you need to make a deep indentation, and do not fill them completely full. Used apricot preserves as the filling, and made a struesel topping to sprinkle over the preserves. I think I will start using this recipe instead of my old kolache one. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luchinka
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
These are my first Kolache and they turned out just like my grandmas from Czech Republic. I made poppyseed and apple filling. Just before I put the filling on the dough I brushed the edge with some egg yolk and oil mix. That made them golden brown and still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luchinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
These truely taste like my grandmothers, I received many compliments on them. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I have made this recipe several times and it's comes out perfectly everytime! A winner for social breakfast gatherings or just for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Wonderful! I'm so glad to have found a traditional recipe that I can make in my bread machine (I don't have the time my grandmother did to do it all by hand!). I made homemade poppyseed filling and they were to die for - just like Grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States