Kolaches From the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was very good. Only problem I had was the dough raised so well, it went over the sides of the pan. I have a 2lb machine, so I thought it should have been large enough. I took these to work, and my boss thought they were almost as good as the ones his Grandmother used to make. I made my own filling, cream cheese with Posypka on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I actually got this recipe when it came out in a baking magazine... they were amazing! Used 1/4 cup potato flour instead of the instant potatoes. For filling I used: Apple filling: 2 apples 1Tbl sugar 2 Tbl water 3/4 tsp cinnamon Cook slowly over medium heat, stirring continuously until soft. Cherry Filling 1 cup pitted cherries (I used ranier) 1/4 cup water 1/4 cup sugar 1 Tbl cornstarch Cook in water for 10 minutes. Stir sugar and cornstarch together; add to cherries. Cook until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Yummy. Used 1/2 cup milk and 3/4 cup warm water and no dry milk. Used baby cereal instead of potato flakes. 1 large can cherry pie filling was exactly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
yum! Super easy to handle dough, no problem with filling spillage and absolutly delish! I split half savory filled with a bacon/egg/cheese mixture, then the other half of dough I made a strawberry jam/creaam cheese mixture. YUM! Taste like "unfried" doughnuts, like other reviewer stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These were easy to make. I made a spicy prune-raisin filling and put on a glaze instead of using the fillings and buttering the finished buns. Loved by those who like sweet breakfast treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
MMMM! I made these and the menfolk devoured them in a day and half. Used 1/2 can of cherry filling for the whole batch as I didn't want as much filling in the pastry. I used 2 T. cream cheese and 1 Tbsp. oil instead of extra egg yolk. Delicious! Drizzled with icing. Thankyou!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
It doesn't make sense to go to the trouble of making a delicious dough like this only to fill it with preservative-laden, funky tasting canned pie filling. It's very simple to just make your own by cooking frozen cherries with sugar to taste, then stirring in some cornstarch and water until it thickens. Takes 10 minutes at the most and is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
SO GOOD! My husbands absolute favorite. Instead of buying the pie filling I made my own: 2 cups of frozen blueberries 1/4 cup white sugar 1/2 cup water 1-2 tbls cornstarch bring to a boil and simmer until thick.......YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is truely and wonderful recipe, I have starting making Kolaches from my husbands grandma's recipe and of course with a pinch of this and dab of that was never able to make it just like her's. But this was wonderful, my family loves it. I am sending one home to my husbands grandma to try which is 3 hours from home. Grandma cant wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I made these as dinner rolls without a bread machine. The dough was so easy to work with and they were very good. The only thing I didn't have was the powdered milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bee Brannin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: Crystal River, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States