Kolaches From the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I made these last weekend. I used apple pie filing as that was all I had. My family loved them, I couldn't keep them from eating it. Mine "puffed" up a lot. It seemed to me though to be a nice dinner roll with some type of fruit topping. I will make again and flatten the dough more, maybe even wrap the dough around the filing. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This dough is very heavy. I think it is not a good recipe for Kolaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This recipe turned out perfectly. Followed instructions exactly. Not a baker but this method was easy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMYOHO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
mine turned out heavy, but may not be the fault of the recipe, so many thing could have caused it, but it was disappointing nonetheless, and fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These are so easy and ridiculously good. Only change I made was to add an extra 2 Tbsp of sugar and a tad more water to the dough. Filled with homemade Apple Pie filling and drizzled with Vanilla Glaze (from this site). These will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very tasty...maybe add a little more sugar to the dough to make sweeter like the ones we had in TX...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Not someone who enjoys baking however these Kolaches are amazing. Follow the instructions exactly and resist the urge to add more water if needed beyond the 1 or 2 tablespoons. It will make the dough hard to handle. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yohokm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
These were amazing! I substituted the potatoes with cream of wheat cereal and drizzled cream cheese icing across them and they were gone within three hours! so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loriann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very good! All rave reviews from our house. I used a strawberry filling as well as a cream cheese filling on mine. I made some with the mixture too. For the fruit mixture: Heat mixture on stovetop in saucepan until pureed and then chill. 2 CUPS FROZEN FRUIT *i used strawberry* 1/4 CUP WHITE GRAN. SUGAR 1/2 CUP WATER 1-2 TBSP CORNSTARCH For the cream cheese mixture: BEAT cream cheese, powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, and sugar in small mixer bowl until smooth. Chill. 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1 cup powdered sugar 6 tablespoons butter or margarine 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese 1 cup granulated sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made 2 batches of these this weekend and they turned out awesome! Just like my grandma used to make. I used poppyseed, cherry and apricot filling. They were so good, I had to hurry and stick them in the freezer so the hubby wouldn't eat them all! The only thing different i did was use regular milk instead of the powdered milk since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States