Kolaches From the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I read all the reviews before trying this; maybe I did something wrong, but I found the dough too sticky and difficult to work with. I almost threw it all out, but I persevered to the end, wrapping the sticky blobs around little sausages. The end result did taste more like dinner rolls, even after upping the sugar to 1/3 cup. Not sure if I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
perfect in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
These are a family favorite. I have made them MANY times. The key to consistency is to weigh the bread flour (and use King Arthur). By weight, use 1 pound 4 ounces of bread flour. Also, I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup to match the sweetness of the traditional ones served in Texas. Lastly, to make sure your fruit filling does not spill over, press firmly to bottom of baking pan when making your indentions. By pressing the dough to the pan, it will prevent the middle from rising. Also, make sure you make an indention about 1 inch in diameter (i.e., several thumb prints).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
These were delicious! I made pumpkin and lemon and both were soo good. I rolled them into the size ball in the recipe, and it make 42! Next time I will put some colored sugar on the edges to give a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alise

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Delicious! Weighed dough with scale per kolache, for consistency. Used the bottom of a juice glass to flatten the dough, and then the back of a tablespoon for the impression (also consistency). As one rater suggested, I filled with pure fruit preserves; this did not work as the filling ran out and over the finished product, and stuck to the pan (did not affect the deliciousness:). Next time I will try pie filling. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Great recipe although i melted butter instead of softened and it was a bit goey but plop onto flour worked it in then it was perfect. i used high quality preserves for filling then made an additional batched and wrapped it around some beef polish sausage and hot dogs for kids delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
bread part wasn't as sweet as I expected but it was pillow-y goodness. I used homemade strawberry jam on half and cream cheese filling in the other. Kids loved them as did the DH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I have made these numerous times and they turn out perfect every time. I add a tablespoon more sugar than listed. I make my own cherry filling using tart cherries or I use apricot filling made from rehydrated dried apricots mixed with some sugar. I also top them with a mixture of flour, sugar and butter called Posypka. I live in Texas and that is what they use in the Czech bakeries around here. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made these pretty much as is, except I used all cherry pie filling and used some of my sons rice cereal for the potato flakes as a few other reviewers mentioned. I've never had a kolache before so I didn't know what to expect and I don't have anything to compare them too, but they looked/sounded delicious and the taste was okay but I don't think id make these again. I don't think they were worth the time and effort that went into making them and I think they would be better with jam or a thicker fruit filling rather than canned pie filling. Thanks anyways though. *EDIT* I just have to say that my husband loved these so maybe I'm just not a kolache person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Very easy to make and real tastey if you add an icing of powdered sugar and milk after they cool. I found the bread not sweet enough without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States