Kokub's Mango Chutney from Pakistan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Yum! This one is GOOD and EASY to make. I misread the recipe and added the vinegar to the mango batch. I decided not to let it sit overnight and I just cooked it on low for about an hour till it thickened. I left it in the back of the fridge for a couple of days. It doesn't have that golden colour (that was probably because I didn't properly caramelize the sugar) but it tastes great. Very mild even though I doubled the chili. I will make this again as it satisfied my craving for mango chutney. Oh and I made the garlic ginger paste by putting the ingredients into a small food processor instead. Thanks! Update: 2 weeks later and the flavours are amazing!!!! I'm literally eating this out of a jar with a spoon. The only problem with this recipe is the whole spices obviously aren't edible. However they are essential as they make the chutney taste so good! I'd suggest serving it in a separate bowl and picking out the spices before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I doubled this recipe and canned it in 4oz. jars for Christmas gifts. Everyone loved it. I had friends put it on fish, chicken and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I used a habenaro flake instead of red pepper flakes as the boyfriend likes it hot. It was amazing and the recipe was easy except for the cost of the spices was a little stupid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have used this recipe several times, and love it! It is really easy and so much better than the store bought chutney that I have tried. The mangos in the store are not usually ripe so the recipe is perfect using green mangos. 2 thumbs up from me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTURKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
wonderful flavour and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peternf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Don't let the whole spices scare you off - the first time I made this I just used the powdered versions of the spices called for, and it was really, really good. This time, I had access to whole spices and used them. WOW! Amazing flavor! But you do have to pick out at least the cardamom pods, cinnamon stick, and cloves before serving. Recipe is super easy and versatile, too. I diced my mangoes and threw in a handful of raisins as well. I think pineapple would also make a good addition too. As others have said, if you like it hot, just add more pepper flakes as its mild enough for children as is. I like my chutney mild to take the heat out of the Indian dishes I make, so this is perfect for me. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! A keeper in my box! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is so yummy! I made it for our Indian potluck, and oh, is it ever good with chana masala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I was more than a little dubious about leaving this out overnight to brew and I'm sure my neighbors smelled the garlic next door (no vampires in our house!), but the results are fantastic! I'm eating the chutney with a spoon right now while I write this. High praise indeed. I'll definitely make this again and have plans to gift it for Christmas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is a really good chutney, way better than anything I've ever purchased in a store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lecker2110
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
yummi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States