Kokub's Mango Chutney from Pakistan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Yum! This one is GOOD and EASY to make. I misread the recipe and added the vinegar to the mango batch. I decided not to let it sit overnight and I just cooked it on low for about an hour till it thickened. I left it in the back of the fridge for a couple of days. It doesn't have that golden colour (that was probably because I didn't properly caramelize the sugar) but it tastes great. Very mild even though I doubled the chili. I will make this again as it satisfied my craving for mango chutney. Oh and I made the garlic ginger paste by putting the ingredients into a small food processor instead. Thanks! Update: 2 weeks later and the flavours are amazing!!!! I'm literally eating this out of a jar with a spoon. The only problem with this recipe is the whole spices obviously aren't edible. However they are essential as they make the chutney taste so good! I'd suggest serving it in a separate bowl and picking out the spices before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Finally found the perfect recipe for chutney we can use on everything! Thank you! Couple of questions: it takes me forever to make the ginger/garlic to form a smooth paste using a pestle and mortar - any suggestions? Also, I have cardamom pods...but I cannot find just the seeds. Can I just break open the pods and use those seeds? I have been using cardamom powder...it must be all right because it tastes great! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Don't let the whole spices scare you off - the first time I made this I just used the powdered versions of the spices called for, and it was really, really good. This time, I had access to whole spices and used them. WOW! Amazing flavor! But you do have to pick out at least the cardamom pods, cinnamon stick, and cloves before serving. Recipe is super easy and versatile, too. I diced my mangoes and threw in a handful of raisins as well. I think pineapple would also make a good addition too. As others have said, if you like it hot, just add more pepper flakes as its mild enough for children as is. I like my chutney mild to take the heat out of the Indian dishes I make, so this is perfect for me. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! A keeper in my box! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I was more than a little dubious about leaving this out overnight to brew and I'm sure my neighbors smelled the garlic next door (no vampires in our house!), but the results are fantastic! I'm eating the chutney with a spoon right now while I write this. High praise indeed. I'll definitely make this again and have plans to gift it for Christmas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I doubled this recipe and canned it in 4oz. jars for Christmas gifts. Everyone loved it. I had friends put it on fish, chicken and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Zingy, sweet, spicy--just what a chutney should be! A bit of initial preparation involved in this recipe, but is worth it when I handed the lovely little jars out for christmas presents! I used riper mangoes so cut down on sugar by 1/4 cup and it was perfect. Because I hate my food processor, when making the paste of the garlic and ginger, I placed them in a mortar and pestle with the 1 teaspooon of coarse sea salt and then squashed them--the salt helps them break down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very good, milder than I normally like though - next time, I'll add more red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have used this recipe several times, and love it! It is really easy and so much better than the store bought chutney that I have tried. The mangos in the store are not usually ripe so the recipe is perfect using green mangos. 2 thumbs up from me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTURKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lecker2110
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
yummi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is a really good chutney, way better than anything I've ever purchased in a store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States