Kokub's Mango Chutney from Pakistan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Not sure what happened here but I ended up with a runny, syrupy, unappetizing mess that I haven't even worked up the gumption to taste! It was very thin and wasn't thickening at all so cooked for 1.5 hours, still didn't reduce....I followed the recipe to the letter. Disappointing because it was quite a challenge getting all the spices necessary as I live in a very remote place. :(........ EDIT: I just drained off alot of the liquid and processed the pulp through the food processor to break down the strips.....it is very very good and tasty. Definately will make again, but maybe cut down the sugar so I don't end up with so much syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Zingy, sweet, spicy--just what a chutney should be! A bit of initial preparation involved in this recipe, but is worth it when I handed the lovely little jars out for christmas presents! I used riper mangoes so cut down on sugar by 1/4 cup and it was perfect. Because I hate my food processor, when making the paste of the garlic and ginger, I placed them in a mortar and pestle with the 1 teaspooon of coarse sea salt and then squashed them--the salt helps them break down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lecker2110
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
yummi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is a really good chutney, way better than anything I've ever purchased in a store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I was more than a little dubious about leaving this out overnight to brew and I'm sure my neighbors smelled the garlic next door (no vampires in our house!), but the results are fantastic! I'm eating the chutney with a spoon right now while I write this. High praise indeed. I'll definitely make this again and have plans to gift it for Christmas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is so yummy! I made it for our Indian potluck, and oh, is it ever good with chana masala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Don't let the whole spices scare you off - the first time I made this I just used the powdered versions of the spices called for, and it was really, really good. This time, I had access to whole spices and used them. WOW! Amazing flavor! But you do have to pick out at least the cardamom pods, cinnamon stick, and cloves before serving. Recipe is super easy and versatile, too. I diced my mangoes and threw in a handful of raisins as well. I think pineapple would also make a good addition too. As others have said, if you like it hot, just add more pepper flakes as its mild enough for children as is. I like my chutney mild to take the heat out of the Indian dishes I make, so this is perfect for me. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! A keeper in my box! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
wonderful flavour and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peternf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have used this recipe several times, and love it! It is really easy and so much better than the store bought chutney that I have tried. The mangos in the store are not usually ripe so the recipe is perfect using green mangos. 2 thumbs up from me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTURKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I used a habenaro flake instead of red pepper flakes as the boyfriend likes it hot. It was amazing and the recipe was easy except for the cost of the spices was a little stupid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States