Kohlrabi with White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
"Kohl" is german for cabbage and "Kohlrabi" is a german word. Thus saying, kohlrabi will taste like cabbage or Broccoli... Great recipe - just like we do it here in Germany. I didn't put any cream in or did I let the sauce cook the extra 10 min. After the sauce thickened enough, I put in the kohrabi. The extra flavor in the sauce comes from using the drained cooking water for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is the first time I've made kohlrabi and we (my husband and I) loved it fixed this way. I didn't have the cream for the sauce, so I just added a little more butter and thickened it more with a little bit of cornstarch. The flavor of the nutmeg came through nicely. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol K. in Clyde, NY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Today was 'try a new vegetable' day. This dish was very tasty, and the nutmeg was indeed a nice touch. I steamed mine for 8 minutes instead of boiling, but I don't think it would make a huge difference. I didn't have any cream but didn't substitute anything either. I eyeballed everything in the sauce, pretty much, but the quote from the husband is "hardly ever does a vegetable taste that good". It seems to have a cabbage-like flavor over potato-like texture. I'll be saving this and will serve it to company at next chance. A warning to those who are new to the lumpy purple thing like me: there were some infrequent fibrous bits present, which I attributed to my being a kohlrabi-peeling novice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
The first time I've had Kohlrabi. This recipe was awesome. My 4 and 3 year olds are downing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Fantastic!!! I got my first vegetables from the CSA (community sponsored agriculture) for the year and had no idea what to make with kohlrabi and potatoes. I did a Google recipe search and it brought me this tasty, filling, vegetarian dish. Wonderful!! I recommend making this with less than the listed amount of kohlrabi - I used only one but kept the rest of the recipe the same (needed a touch more flour to thicken the sauce though.) It makes it very saucy which is great for ladling over sauteed scalloped potatoes. Yum! This recipe has made me a die hard kohlrabi fan! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I submitted this original recipe, and I want to warn you that the amounts of nutmeg and pepper were too much (compared to my original recipe)!!! This is definitely a taste-as-you-season sauce! Start with 1/4 tsp. of each and build up from there as you taste! Thanks for trying my recipe :) As with any recipes on this site, it's a good idea to use your own judgement when it comes to any ingredients--it's also nice when people put tips for improvements in their posts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Good recipe, I used white pepper to taste. Next time I will cook the kohlrabi to tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This dish was great. But I modified it in my own way. I don't drink milk and didn't have it or cream on hand and so substituted almond milk and almond butter. It was fantastic. The nuttiness of the almond perfectly complemented the earthiness of the kohlrabi. I, of course, still used butter. I mean, really, I'm crunchy, but nothing beats butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I saw kohlrabi in the store today for the first time in years, and looked up the recipe here as a memory enhancer. My German Nana used to make it this way with one addition. She always boiled the green leaves in a separate pot until soft; drained and then chopped them; and mixed them into the cooked, sliced bulbs and sauce. It added an extra dimension to the flavor. If you have too many bulbs for the number of people, you can freeze them (raw or cooked without the sauce) in a freezer bag for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Nice flavor. Never had this veggie before. It's very good. I sprinkled the seasoning in until it looked and tasted right.. used black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States