Kohlrabi with White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I submitted this original recipe, and I want to warn you that the amounts of nutmeg and pepper were too much (compared to my original recipe)!!! This is definitely a taste-as-you-season sauce! Start with 1/4 tsp. of each and build up from there as you taste! Thanks for trying my recipe :) As with any recipes on this site, it's a good idea to use your own judgement when it comes to any ingredients--it's also nice when people put tips for improvements in their posts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
"Kohl" is german for cabbage and "Kohlrabi" is a german word. Thus saying, kohlrabi will taste like cabbage or Broccoli... Great recipe - just like we do it here in Germany. I didn't put any cream in or did I let the sauce cook the extra 10 min. After the sauce thickened enough, I put in the kohrabi. The extra flavor in the sauce comes from using the drained cooking water for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Today was 'try a new vegetable' day. This dish was very tasty, and the nutmeg was indeed a nice touch. I steamed mine for 8 minutes instead of boiling, but I don't think it would make a huge difference. I didn't have any cream but didn't substitute anything either. I eyeballed everything in the sauce, pretty much, but the quote from the husband is "hardly ever does a vegetable taste that good". It seems to have a cabbage-like flavor over potato-like texture. I'll be saving this and will serve it to company at next chance. A warning to those who are new to the lumpy purple thing like me: there were some infrequent fibrous bits present, which I attributed to my being a kohlrabi-peeling novice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe looked appealing as I've just been exposed to kohlrabi. I agree with another reviewer that being a novice when peeling I didn't get all the fibrous peeling out. HOWEVER, I found that the 2 tsp of white pepper was way too much -- making the dish inedible. However, I will try again without adding the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I would have given this a higher rating if it wasn't for the white pepper. I should have realized before I added it to the sauce that it was too much. I don't really like my food spicy hot and even if I did, the amount of pepper is overwhelming. That's all I tasted. I'm going to make this again, but this time, just a dash of the pepper. The sauce did have a lovely creamy flavor/texture that complemented the kohlrabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is the first time I've made kohlrabi and we (my husband and I) loved it fixed this way. I didn't have the cream for the sauce, so I just added a little more butter and thickened it more with a little bit of cornstarch. The flavor of the nutmeg came through nicely. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol K. in Clyde, NY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I saw kohlrabi in the store today for the first time in years, and looked up the recipe here as a memory enhancer. My German Nana used to make it this way with one addition. She always boiled the green leaves in a separate pot until soft; drained and then chopped them; and mixed them into the cooked, sliced bulbs and sauce. It added an extra dimension to the flavor. If you have too many bulbs for the number of people, you can freeze them (raw or cooked without the sauce) in a freezer bag for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was good. I remember eating this at Juergen and Britta's house often in Germany. It was one of my favorite dishes at their house. I couldn't find any here in the US, but I grew some myself this year. Just like cabbage (which it is) it grows well and is one hearty plant. I don't remember it tasting so much like cabbage, in fact at the time I had no idea it was cabbage, but she sliced it thinner than I did and I believe she cooked it more than I did. Next time I'll boil it longer, and maybe not save the 1 cup water. I've got more Kohlrabi so I'll perfect it over time. I tried to go conservative on salt and pepper due to another review, but needed to add more after it was done. I added a little black pepper too. The seasoning depends on how much Kohlrabi you have, etc, so you have to season to taste. It was good, but I think the good company also made it better in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I give this a "3" as overall, it was a good recipe. I liked the texture of the kohlrabi cooked, as I have always ate it raw with a little salt, like a radish. I took others advice and cut the pepper in half and the teaspoon seemed to give it a good pepper kick. I'm not a big fan of nutmeg, so I did not enjoy this like I thought I would. I will definitely try again, but omit the nutmeg and maybe add some red pepper, and maybe thyme and basil. Thanks for giving me something new to try! I am always looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hamlet, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Fantastic!!! I got my first vegetables from the CSA (community sponsored agriculture) for the year and had no idea what to make with kohlrabi and potatoes. I did a Google recipe search and it brought me this tasty, filling, vegetarian dish. Wonderful!! I recommend making this with less than the listed amount of kohlrabi - I used only one but kept the rest of the recipe the same (needed a touch more flour to thicken the sauce though.) It makes it very saucy which is great for ladling over sauteed scalloped potatoes. Yum! This recipe has made me a die hard kohlrabi fan! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States