Kohlrabi with White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is the first time I've made kohlrabi and we (my husband and I) loved it fixed this way. I didn't have the cream for the sauce, so I just added a little more butter and thickened it more with a little bit of cornstarch. The flavor of the nutmeg came through nicely. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol K. in Clyde, NY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Today was 'try a new vegetable' day. This dish was very tasty, and the nutmeg was indeed a nice touch. I steamed mine for 8 minutes instead of boiling, but I don't think it would make a huge difference. I didn't have any cream but didn't substitute anything either. I eyeballed everything in the sauce, pretty much, but the quote from the husband is "hardly ever does a vegetable taste that good". It seems to have a cabbage-like flavor over potato-like texture. I'll be saving this and will serve it to company at next chance. A warning to those who are new to the lumpy purple thing like me: there were some infrequent fibrous bits present, which I attributed to my being a kohlrabi-peeling novice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe looked appealing as I've just been exposed to kohlrabi. I agree with another reviewer that being a novice when peeling I didn't get all the fibrous peeling out. HOWEVER, I found that the 2 tsp of white pepper was way too much -- making the dish inedible. However, I will try again without adding the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This was my first kohlrabi dish ever. It was pretty good - I didn't love the tast of the kohlrabi itself (tastes like broccoli stems) but the sauce was good. I'd make it again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Nice take on kohlrabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Yuck. I LOVE kohlrabi but this sauce was terrible. I ended up washing the sauce off of my kohlrabi so it didn't go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I would have given this a higher rating if it wasn't for the white pepper. I should have realized before I added it to the sauce that it was too much. I don't really like my food spicy hot and even if I did, the amount of pepper is overwhelming. That's all I tasted. I'm going to make this again, but this time, just a dash of the pepper. The sauce did have a lovely creamy flavor/texture that complemented the kohlrabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Ick. I wish I'd eaten my homegrown kohlrabi raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
The first time I've had Kohlrabi. This recipe was awesome. My 4 and 3 year olds are downing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
"Kohl" is german for cabbage and "Kohlrabi" is a german word. Thus saying, kohlrabi will taste like cabbage or Broccoli... Great recipe - just like we do it here in Germany. I didn't put any cream in or did I let the sauce cook the extra 10 min. After the sauce thickened enough, I put in the kohrabi. The extra flavor in the sauce comes from using the drained cooking water for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States