Kohlrabi Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
What a fun recipe! I enlisted the whole family to peel and chop. We are new fans of kohrabi and, as I suspected, it makes great coleslaw! I didn't have any mayo, so had to substitute Miracle Whip and cut the sugar back to 2 T. I'll try it again with mayo next week. I really liked how this recipe goes light on the dressing, giving us a much leaner, fresher tasting salad. This makes a couple quarts of slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hector, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was excellent! I had a kohlrabi from the organic produce box from the school. I went from having never cooked with it, to using this recipe first-time as I hosted Easter! Everyone in the family loved it! The carrots add a nice pop of color--it has a very nice presentation, as well as tasting good, this slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carluzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Yum! I was hesitant to try this with only 2 reviews and no photo. But this was delicious. I didn't have as much kohlrabi as suggested, so I increased the cabbage a bit (I used Napa cabbage). Otherwise, everything was as written. I grated the carrots and I have a mandolin to slice the celery paper thin. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
We love this coleslaw in our home! We tried it to use up kohlrabi, which we had no idea what to do with. The dressing is light, but just enough. I actually use a combo of honey and stevia in place of the sugar. We've made it 3 or 4 times now and eat it up every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Wonderful flavor. This is the first time I have ever used kohlrabi and I grew it this year in the garden. I made no changes to the recipe. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Not a fan of raw celery, so I left it out and didn't miss it. Used food processor to grate all veggies quickly. A fabulous slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Excellent! Great way to use kohlrabi. My husband LOVES kohlrabi - he'll eat them like an apple - so he loved this slaw. I added a splash of milk to make it a little more wet. Instead of grating the kohlrabi I sliced if very thin using a mandoline. Yum. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
as far as coleslaw goes,this is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Took WAY to long to prepare & taste wasn't worth it. Rather bland. Won't be buying kohlrabi again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Great recipe to use our CSA recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States