Kofta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I reviewed all the reviews and then made some more changes, this was perfectly yummy! First off, I used 1/2 ground beef (80/20) and 1/2 ground lamb (85/15). You want to use meat with a bit more fat on the grill to keep it juicy. The onion is really better if you mince or run through a food processor; I used a Vidalia, it was sweet and juicy! I added a cup of chopped cilantro and a 1/2 cup of chopped spearmint from the garden. I added 5 minced garlic cloves; we LOVE garlic! One more addition that makes it taste more authentic to me: 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I also added a teaspoon of kosher salt and a teaspoon of pepper. You can see from my photo that I used kabob baskets...I cannot ever get a ground meat kabob to stick to a skewer so these are just necessary for me! (I think I am skewer-challenged!) I did NOT add an egg yolk. I grilled over high heat for 1-1/2 minutes on each of the 4 sides and they were still juicy and medium. Here is the final tip: I did dip my kofta in Sumac! This may be the actual flavor that some are searching for when they want authentic. Ground sumac doesn't taste all that interesting on it's own, but when you dip the meat into the powder, it brings out all different flavors. That's MY two cents on this recipe from Persia and Egypt and I hope you enjoy it as much as we did; take a look at my photos to see a kabob grilling basket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
WOW! Super easy and super economical. Tastes just like a restaurant !!! I served with a greek salad and some basmati rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Traditionally Kofta is made with finely chopped onion, minced garlic, chopped fresh parsley, salt, pepper, and paprika to taste. My husband makes really good Kofta and that is what he normally puts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
My Husband is from Egypt & I am still learning how to cook traditional Egyption foods for him and our 3 years old son He loved this Kofta he said it was right on the money. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fiji chefmom
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
My dear, I have never been to the Middle East, but your kofta recipe certainly transported me there! A delicious blend of spices and flavors and a simple method of cooking. I did add some paprika and fresh cilantro, and the flavors were exotic. I served it with homemade hummus, pocket bread and the Eggplant Curry, and couscous from the website, and WOW! A very picky eater with our dinner guests had thirds! And lots of compliments. Thanks for a superb addition to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I can't even get them to stick well together, but they're so yummy we don't care! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
My Turkish friend adds chilli, mint and cumin to taste and olive oil. But not oregano. The shape varies to the style of cooking: whether it's over wood fire; BBQ; Grill; Bake in the oven or fried. If fried shape into small, flat disks to cook faster (only a small amount of olive oil to fry). Lamb or Beef are the preferred meats but chicken or pork are alternatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Tasted amazing! I only gave this recipe 4 stars because I took advise from serena and added the extra herbs and spices. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe along with Serena's modifications (thanks!) and they were pretty delicious. My wife is a picky eater and she really liked them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
My family and our guests loved this... Delish! I have to say that for one I didn't fire up the outdoor grill, I used my indoor one. I didn't put them onto skewers either, not necessary with the grill I used... Waste not, want not, right? I did follow the advice of another reviewer (Serena) and changed the recipe a little. I minced garlic and onion. Instead of oregano, I used parsley. I also added paprika. I wish I could tell you how much but I just eyeballed it and put as much as I thought would be good. lol Served this with the Quinoa Tabbouleh recipe from this site. Yummy in our tummys! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kofta Kebabs

Ground lamb is marinated in fragrant spices and grilled on skewers.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States