Kofta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Traditionally Kofta is made with finely chopped onion, minced garlic, chopped fresh parsley, salt, pepper, and paprika to taste. My husband makes really good Kofta and that is what he normally puts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I reviewed all the reviews and then made some more changes, this was perfectly yummy! First off, I used 1/2 ground beef (80/20) and 1/2 ground lamb (85/15). You want to use meat with a bit more fat on the grill to keep it juicy. The onion is really better if you mince or run through a food processor; I used a Vidalia, it was sweet and juicy! I added a cup of chopped cilantro and a 1/2 cup of chopped spearmint from the garden. I added 5 minced garlic cloves; we LOVE garlic! One more addition that makes it taste more authentic to me: 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I also added a teaspoon of kosher salt and a teaspoon of pepper. You can see from my photo that I used kabob baskets...I cannot ever get a ground meat kabob to stick to a skewer so these are just necessary for me! (I think I am skewer-challenged!) I did NOT add an egg yolk. I grilled over high heat for 1-1/2 minutes on each of the 4 sides and they were still juicy and medium. Here is the final tip: I did dip my kofta in Sumac! This may be the actual flavor that some are searching for when they want authentic. Ground sumac doesn't taste all that interesting on it's own, but when you dip the meat into the powder, it brings out all different flavors. That's MY two cents on this recipe from Persia and Egypt and I hope you enjoy it as much as we did; take a look at my photos to see a kabob grilling basket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I was not happy with the recipe at all it tasted like a meatloaf. So I took the advice of Sister Serena and it was absolutely awesome!! My husband is from Egypt and he said this way was just like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Ibrahim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
WOW! Super easy and super economical. Tastes just like a restaurant !!! I served with a greek salad and some basmati rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Tasted amazing! I only gave this recipe 4 stars because I took advise from serena and added the extra herbs and spices. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This gets 4 stars only after I changed it quite a bit. I didn't even try the recipe as printed because it looks so bland.I added 3 TB dry chili flakes. 2TB each minced ginger & garlic. 1 small diced red onion. 1 whole egg instead of just the yolk, and a bunch of chopped fresh cilantro. I think you would normally do parsley instead of cilantro but I just love cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fiji chefmom
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
My dear, I have never been to the Middle East, but your kofta recipe certainly transported me there! A delicious blend of spices and flavors and a simple method of cooking. I did add some paprika and fresh cilantro, and the flavors were exotic. I served it with homemade hummus, pocket bread and the Eggplant Curry, and couscous from the website, and WOW! A very picky eater with our dinner guests had thirds! And lots of compliments. Thanks for a superb addition to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
My Husband is from Egypt & I am still learning how to cook traditional Egyption foods for him and our 3 years old son He loved this Kofta he said it was right on the money. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
i really did love it so did my daughter and husband it was definitely a middle east dish i my self live in Egypt i just made a tahini sauce next to it and it was good to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe along with Serena's modifications (thanks!) and they were pretty delicious. My wife is a picky eater and she really liked them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kofta Kebabs

Ground lamb is marinated in fragrant spices and grilled on skewers.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States