Kofta Kebabs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe is identical to the Food Network version, except their recipe specifies 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and this one calls for 1/2 tablespoon (a typo?) For this reason I rate this version 4-stars and the Food Network version 5-stars. This review is meant as heads-up for those who thought there was too much cinnamon in the spice list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was a very good recipe, my family loved it. They even went as far as suggesting that I sell it in a food tent at our local farmers market. Here's the changes I made. I doubled the recipe and used a pound of lamb and a pound of higher quality ground beef. I also added a doubling of the spice mixture to a gallon sized ziplock bag add a ½ cup of water to create a marinade to which I added two pounds of chicken breast. If possible purchase thinly sliced chicken breast or ask the butcher counter to slice it for you. Let the chicken marinade for a minimum of 24 to 48 hours. I also used wood charcoal when I grilled everything it helps add a smokiness to the flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thinbutgluttonous

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
These were delicious! I made them into meatballs and baked them at 350 for 30 minutes, then 350 convection for 10 more minutes. They smelled so delicious while baking! Served with homemade Tzatziki sauce, rice, & broccoli. Use lamb like the recipe says, not beef, for authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I used beef in place of the lamb (although I am sure lamb is wonderful in this recipe!) I cut back on most of the spices just a bit and added some fresh mint. Very flavorful and just like the kind I get in a local Middle Eastern restaurant. I skewered some onion and pepper along with the meat and served over couscous and drizzled with tzatziki. Warm pita triangles on the side. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Loved it!! Lots of good flavor and so easy. I just made mini patties and used my indoor grill. Made pita pocket sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
these were tasty.. very peppery.. i used ground turkey for the lamb and made these into burgers.. i would have liked a little more salt.. but i think that's bc i actually used the kosher salt.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I used half and half ground regular and lean beef. I formed the mixture to 24 balls (golf ball size); rolled them to oval shape on a plate with vegetable oil (this way the meat did't get dry); and refrigerated them. I place the balls on flat skewers ( 5 pieces per skewer) right before grilling. This recipe is pretty easy for a beginer like me as most of the ingredients are ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
The flavor is a 7 out of 10. I had to bake them rather than grill them so that may have changed things a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I make it with ground venison some time. We pulled the kabob off with flatbread and load it up with tzatziki and tomatoes and cucumber. My 9 yr old love to make this so it has become a summer staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick McElvaney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Made this last night for dinner ... it was very good ... next time I will make a sauce for them ... some type of yogurt sauce ... and naan bread ... I served this with a salad which was good but the naan bread and sauce would have made it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kofta Kebabs

Ground lamb is marinated in fragrant spices and grilled on skewers.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Bison and Veggie Kabobs

Learn how to make lean bison and vegetable kabobs with couscous salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States