Knoephla, Potatoes and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Wonderful-Wonderful!!! Will share this one with other family members during the holidays. Would make with a sausage of sort for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Absolutely DEEEElicious. Very German flavor. I decided not to drain the saurkraut in order to maintain moisture. The family loved it!! It was an easy clean up too. Goes good with Bierocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEED330

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yum! The knoephla were a hit. I served everything separate and let guests mix however they wanted. I'm glad I cut the recipe in half, this makes a lot! Easy to make too. Thanks for a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Hubby is from NorthDakota and he absolutely loved this! Great recipe and he said they were the best knefla I have ever made! Made the knelfla dough recipe again today and cut some iinto his Lipton's noodle soup for a quick lunch on a cold Sunday afternoon...I'll boil up the rest of the dough and keep for more fried knefla later this wek! I'm telling you ...he loves this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I've been looking for a recipe like this. It tastes a lot like what my german Grandmother, Mom, and aunt used to make. I pretty much made the recipe as written, just halfed it for just my husband and I. My husband, who is not a sauerkraut lover, even liked it quite a bit! Love it, will be making again soon. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made this last night and it got rave reviews. A few things I will change next time though - Make the kneophla smaller, closer to the size of the potato chunks. Also, add more sauerkraut! This looks like it would be a bland recipe but we found out that it required NO spicing up whatsoever! I added salt to the kneophla water and that was it. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This dish was something totally new to my husband and I. I halved the recipe, but used all the ingredients listed and made as written. This was made as a main dish and the first thing my DH said was "Where's the meat?" He didn't disappoint me, as I knew that would be his first response. I did mix the potatoes and knoephia together, but chose to add the sauerkraut on top because I could tell there would be leftovers for lunches and I didn't want the kraut to make the other ingredients soggy. This dish needs to be paired with something colorful as it is basically the same colors. We had a spinach salad with 'Maple-Balsamic Vinaigrette' dressing from AR. The taste is good, but not sure I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe was good just the way it is. Wanted to add my Nana (50ish yrs. ago) made these when we were children, called them "potato dumplings". We covered them in poppyseed, butter,sugar & cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
My family always adds cooked and chopped bacon or ham to the final product. Bavarian sauerkraut is my personal favorite! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Another version...boil knoephla till floars, fry some bacon then some cabbage,when half way cooked add your drained knoephla and pieces of buttered bread and add lots of pepper...we love it and have eaten it since the fifties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States