Knoephla, Potatoes and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Hubby is from NorthDakota and he absolutely loved this! Great recipe and he said they were the best knefla I have ever made! Made the knelfla dough recipe again today and cut some iinto his Lipton's noodle soup for a quick lunch on a cold Sunday afternoon...I'll boil up the rest of the dough and keep for more fried knefla later this wek! I'm telling you ...he loves this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yum! The knoephla were a hit. I served everything separate and let guests mix however they wanted. I'm glad I cut the recipe in half, this makes a lot! Easy to make too. Thanks for a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this a while ago and was disappointed. The "kneophla" (the correct spelling is Knoepfle, which means "little buttons") were very dense and chewy. If you want a really tasty German pasta, try one of the Spaetzle recipes from this site. Knoepfle is actually another name for Spaetzle, but this recipe doesn't bear much resemblance to Spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Wonderful-Wonderful!!! Will share this one with other family members during the holidays. Would make with a sausage of sort for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Absolutely DEEEElicious. Very German flavor. I decided not to drain the saurkraut in order to maintain moisture. The family loved it!! It was an easy clean up too. Goes good with Bierocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEED330

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
i thought this recipe was pretty good...and something different. my only complaint was that it was slightly dry...needs a lot of salt and pepper...next time i would add some good german sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Me and bf really enjoyed this. It might be a tad bland but I sliced and fried some polish sausage and added that and it came out really wonderfully tasting with the sauerkraut and the kneoph- whatever, were a really nice addition. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
I really like this recipe. It takes a bit of time to make but it is very tasty and has vary-ing textures.Also, the recipe for 6 makes a LOT of food! My 6 year old daughter gobbles it down,and I don't think she even likes saurkraut!This has become a family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made this last night and it got rave reviews. A few things I will change next time though - Make the kneophla smaller, closer to the size of the potato chunks. Also, add more sauerkraut! This looks like it would be a bland recipe but we found out that it required NO spicing up whatsoever! I added salt to the kneophla water and that was it. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This dish was something totally new to my husband and I. I halved the recipe, but used all the ingredients listed and made as written. This was made as a main dish and the first thing my DH said was "Where's the meat?" He didn't disappoint me, as I knew that would be his first response. I did mix the potatoes and knoephia together, but chose to add the sauerkraut on top because I could tell there would be leftovers for lunches and I didn't want the kraut to make the other ingredients soggy. This dish needs to be paired with something colorful as it is basically the same colors. We had a spinach salad with 'Maple-Balsamic Vinaigrette' dressing from AR. The taste is good, but not sure I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States