Knoephla, Potatoes and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this a while ago and was disappointed. The "kneophla" (the correct spelling is Knoepfle, which means "little buttons") were very dense and chewy. If you want a really tasty German pasta, try one of the Spaetzle recipes from this site. Knoepfle is actually another name for Spaetzle, but this recipe doesn't bear much resemblance to Spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Wonderful-Wonderful!!! Will share this one with other family members during the holidays. Would make with a sausage of sort for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Me and bf really enjoyed this. It might be a tad bland but I sliced and fried some polish sausage and added that and it came out really wonderfully tasting with the sauerkraut and the kneoph- whatever, were a really nice addition. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Absolutely DEEEElicious. Very German flavor. I decided not to drain the saurkraut in order to maintain moisture. The family loved it!! It was an easy clean up too. Goes good with Bierocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEED330

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
My husband and I liked this dish but my kids didn't care for it We all did like the "kneophla" and I have used them in other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
My husband thought it was okay but I thought it was dry, bland and boring. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
I really like this recipe. It takes a bit of time to make but it is very tasty and has vary-ing textures.Also, the recipe for 6 makes a LOT of food! My 6 year old daughter gobbles it down,and I don't think she even likes saurkraut!This has become a family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
i thought this recipe was pretty good...and something different. my only complaint was that it was slightly dry...needs a lot of salt and pepper...next time i would add some good german sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States