Knedliky - Czech Dumpling with Sauerkraut (Zeli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I grew up on this dish. My grandma would make it for every special occasion when I was a kid. Apparently my great great grandma made dumplings every day- what a beast of a woman. Her arms must have been the size of tree trunks. My family's recipe is just flour, milk, salt, stale bread, and a few eggs. You pour as much milk as you want dumplings and then add flour until the dough becomes agony to mix. Beat air into the dough until the dough is shiny and your arm has fallen off. Instead of loaves, we cut big dumplings out of the dough and let those suckers float in boiling water. (we slice them later). I followed a mix of this recipe and my family's and made mine lactose free and whole wheat. They came out great. I'm eating the worlds best breakfast right now. Fried dumplings and eggs. So good! You can't make dumplings and not have this the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Made smaller amount, but still good. Very much like real Czech dumplings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I only used 2 eggs as suggested. I tried to use bread cubes but they never mixed, so I remade the recipe and used bread crumbs. The bread mixed up better that way. I used the cloth because I was afraid the dough would just run everywhere, but don't tie the cloth too tightly otherwise it will spill out and not cook properly. I used salted water, covered the pot. I split the dough into two loaves as suggested also. I cooked them for 40 min, turned them over halfway, and they were overcooked. Would shoot for 30 min or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I make my Babi's (grandmothers) recipe but its with YEAST instead of baking powder. The baking powder does work, but makes for a much more dense Knedliky and its 10X faster because the yeast version you need to let it rise twice. My Babi and I also use caraway seeded rye bread instead of white bread to give it the authentic flavor. In a pinch you do not need a dumpling cutter but can use unwaxed dental floss. There is no need for cheese cloth and my Babi probably because we use Yeast instead of baking powder always said never lift the lid on the pan while cooking. The rolling boil will roll the dough around the pan. When tiny bubbles are all around the sides of the lid, that is when they are done. The kraut.. I prefer mine sour and do not like to add the white or brown sugar. I prefer just adding chopped and sauted onion and caraway to the jarred kraut .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Incredible!! forgot to prick holes in dumplings, but didn't mix in the crumbs enough so that took care of that!! My bff (Czech) was ecstatic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
How about a THANK YOU to the author of the recipe and trying some constructive criticism? Anyway these came out PERFECT! I only used 2 eggs and doubled the baking power and left out the soda. Also used day old wheat bread. My bf is from Czech Republic and he has a lot of trouble getting his dumplings to stick together ( something about " hard flour" that you can't get in the US). So I did use the cheese cloth and it made them so perfect! *** PLEASE NOTE**** that these are Czech, Eastern European style dumplings. NOT the kind of dumplings we are familiar with here in the US. When my Czech native bf introduced them to me I thought they were strange and unusual but they grew on me and are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookE86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was the best knedlik i have ever made (so far I was consistently failing at it to the point of giving up). I had Czech hruba and polohruba flours at home, so I have used these. i only had 2 cups of hruba, so used 2 of that and 1 cup of polohruba. I did not have any baking powder at home, so i have used an extra tsp of baking soda instead and this worked fine. I have only used 2 eggs which was enough. I have used less bread (only one bread slice, cubed (toasted it on the lightest setting and left if air dry for a while whilst cooking other things and kneading the dough). I did not bother beating the eggs beforehand, just popped them in. I used smaller amount of milk first, about a cup, then got stuck in with my hands, did not bother with a spoon. I added a little more milk as i worked it, just enough for it not to be too dry, but not too much, so that it holds firm shape. I followed the advices of 200 strokes, but instead knead it 200x times by hand, until the dough was elastic (sprung back when depressed) and did not stick to my hands anymore. Then I wored the bread cubes in and decided to divide the dough into 2 knedliky, which was a good decision as it fit in the pot better. Bear in mind the knedlik will rise as it cooks to 1.5-2 times its raw size. I did not bother cooking it in a cloth, just popped them in salty boiling water. I took them out after 20 mintutes, cutting them in half with a thread and found the center still raw, so popped them in for another 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CzechChick
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe I am 100% Czechoslovakian and it was only once a year on my birthday that I would get pork roast and dumplings for my b-day dinner. My mom would never take the time to give me the recipe. Once I found this recipe, I was in HEAVEN. In my opinion, I have perfected this recipe and I can make my dumplings in less than one hour. As far as this recipe goes, I use everything up to the breadcrumbs. As for the milk, I keep that to a minimum as well as the breadcrumbs. I do stir all of the ingredients as directed however; I use judgment with the milk as to not make it too moist of a batter. The breadcrumbs are added last. I have found that too many breadcrumbs create air pockets for water to enter when boiling. Once my dough is mixed, I will use "Wondra Gravy Flour" to roll them to their desired shape. Almost as though you would flour a cutting board for bread dough. (I just use the Wondra flour.) The dough yields enough to make two good size rolls, about what a muffin size would be. I then boil my water to a strong rolling boil. Drop in my dumplings and then boil for approximately 20 min. constantly rolling and turning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CzechChick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was so good! I was nervous because the bread seemed difficult in my mind- but was not, very easy and super tasty! I made it with the Czech Roast Pork (Sonya) submitted here - and a super Czech Dinner! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I'm Czech to only my great grandmother used rye bread...quite a nice taste with the pork and saurkraut. sometimes Czech dishes seem so German like because Austria is right over the mountain range.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States