Knedliky - Czech Dumpling with Sauerkraut (Zeli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Where is the salted water? Skip the baking soda, add another tsp or 2 of baking powder. No need to keep kneading it..just mix it all together until soft/doughy but still holding it's shape. I roll my smaller (hand sized) football shaped knedlick in a little flour just barely and then throw into boiling SALTED water..I don't cover it, just let it cook for 25 minutes poking with a fork and rolling about 3-4 times while cooking. Remove and slice with knedlicky cutter from czech, or let cool and cut with bread knife into bread width pieces. Don't complicate simple recipe...mix-boil and be done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Well, I'm Czech too but never heard of wrapping the dough in a cloth! Basically, same ingredients but fold in the bread cubes, form into small loaves, flouring your hands. Let sit for a few minutes until water boils. Gently lower into water, put cover on pot but leave it slightly askew to vent and gently simmer for 20 minutes. Remove, slice. Sauerkraut: rinse can of sauerkraut; put into saucepan and add enough water to almost cover sauerkraut. Cook for 20 minutes or so. In small skillet, brown butter, add flour to make a roux and add that to the saucepan with the sauerkraut. That should do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I can finally make my grandmother's dumplings! I followed another reviewer's advice, and left out the baking soda. I also only used 2 eggs. My grandmother always shaped her dumplings using her wet hands, so that's what I did and it worked out perfectly. As for the sauerkraut, I did my grandmother's. She always made hers with caraway seeds, chopped onions and brown sugar, so that's what I did. Made a pork roast in the slow cooker with the zeli and I had a childhood dinner I begged for! I don't have a dumpling slicer (but my grandmother is giving me hers), so I used thread to slice them. The leftover dumplings were cubed and I made another childhood favourite....egg dumplings. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CzechChick
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe I am 100% Czechoslovakian and it was only once a year on my birthday that I would get pork roast and dumplings for my b-day dinner. My mom would never take the time to give me the recipe. Once I found this recipe, I was in HEAVEN. In my opinion, I have perfected this recipe and I can make my dumplings in less than one hour. As far as this recipe goes, I use everything up to the breadcrumbs. As for the milk, I keep that to a minimum as well as the breadcrumbs. I do stir all of the ingredients as directed however; I use judgment with the milk as to not make it too moist of a batter. The breadcrumbs are added last. I have found that too many breadcrumbs create air pockets for water to enter when boiling. Once my dough is mixed, I will use "Wondra Gravy Flour" to roll them to their desired shape. Almost as though you would flour a cutting board for bread dough. (I just use the Wondra flour.) The dough yields enough to make two good size rolls, about what a muffin size would be. I then boil my water to a strong rolling boil. Drop in my dumplings and then boil for approximately 20 min. constantly rolling and turning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CzechChick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
What a treat to find this recipe! Both of my grandmothers and my own mother passed away before I became interested in cooking and I have always regretted not learning this traditional meal. Thank you Sonya, for the detailed instructions (it brought back so many memories). Unfortunately, my dumplings were not quite as light and fluffy as Babicka's (grandmother's) but this does take some practice. I'm sure it had nothing to do with the recipe and instructions. I may have over-kneaded and possibly cooked them just a little too long but they were still very delicious. I would like to add one valuable tip I found on another site (however, the instructions and ingredients on that site left alot to be desired)...rather than cutting with a knife which can compress the dumplings, use a long piece of dental floss to cut them into slices for serving. It leaves them virtually in their true form and allows the steam to escape so that they don't turn out too hard. This is the only advice I can offer. Sonya, dekuji mockrat (many thanks) for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Please be sure that the bread cubes have been dried out. They should be hard. Sauteed onions should also be added to the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is almost exactly like my grandmother used to make it, with the exception that she dropped individual "blobs" of dumpling dough into the water. This is how my family continues to make it. Then we serve it with pork roast and sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I have been trying to replicate my grandmother's knedlicky recipe for a while now- the cheesecloth is a great suggestion! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I thought it is too many eggs, because Knedla came out really yellow and kind of eggy. But otherwise it was very nice, and my husband loved it. I usually make knedlily with yeasted dough, but this recipe is good and quick when I don't have time to let the dough rise. My hubbie is Slovak and the Slovak version of knedla does not have bread cubes in it but I liked this Czech version also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was the best knedlik i have ever made (so far I was consistently failing at it to the point of giving up). I had Czech hruba and polohruba flours at home, so I have used these. i only had 2 cups of hruba, so used 2 of that and 1 cup of polohruba. I did not have any baking powder at home, so i have used an extra tsp of baking soda instead and this worked fine. I have only used 2 eggs which was enough. I have used less bread (only one bread slice, cubed (toasted it on the lightest setting and left if air dry for a while whilst cooking other things and kneading the dough). I did not bother beating the eggs beforehand, just popped them in. I used smaller amount of milk first, about a cup, then got stuck in with my hands, did not bother with a spoon. I added a little more milk as i worked it, just enough for it not to be too dry, but not too much, so that it holds firm shape. I followed the advices of 200 strokes, but instead knead it 200x times by hand, until the dough was elastic (sprung back when depressed) and did not stick to my hands anymore. Then I wored the bread cubes in and decided to divide the dough into 2 knedliky, which was a good decision as it fit in the pot better. Bear in mind the knedlik will rise as it cooks to 1.5-2 times its raw size. I did not bother cooking it in a cloth, just popped them in salty boiling water. I took them out after 20 mintutes, cutting them in half with a thread and found the center still raw, so popped them in for another 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States