Knedliky - Czech Dumpling with Sauerkraut (Zeli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Please be sure that the bread cubes have been dried out. They should be hard. Sauteed onions should also be added to the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly (except halved quantity and adjusted cooking time in accordance) and was horrified when it came time to serve this. The dumpling was an ugly greyish & yellow colour. My husband called it a hockey puck when I served this with the Roast Pork and sauerkraut. Please take my advice and find another dumpling recipe. I gave the star for the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CZARDAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narre Warren, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is a very easy, very good recipe. I have tried 6 recipes for knedlik to little success but this one had all my dinner guests raving and was also liked by my partner whom is also Czech.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Well, I'm Czech too but never heard of wrapping the dough in a cloth! Basically, same ingredients but fold in the bread cubes, form into small loaves, flouring your hands. Let sit for a few minutes until water boils. Gently lower into water, put cover on pot but leave it slightly askew to vent and gently simmer for 20 minutes. Remove, slice. Sauerkraut: rinse can of sauerkraut; put into saucepan and add enough water to almost cover sauerkraut. Cook for 20 minutes or so. In small skillet, brown butter, add flour to make a roux and add that to the saucepan with the sauerkraut. That should do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I was very happy to find this recipe. The directions are well writtten.I made it and they turned out just like my grandmother and mother made. It was part of our regular Sunday dinner as I was growing up. Sometimes we served it with duck and on Christmas it was with goose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is almost exactly like my grandmother used to make it, with the exception that she dropped individual "blobs" of dumpling dough into the water. This is how my family continues to make it. Then we serve it with pork roast and sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Where is the salted water? Skip the baking soda, add another tsp or 2 of baking powder. No need to keep kneading it..just mix it all together until soft/doughy but still holding it's shape. I roll my smaller (hand sized) football shaped knedlick in a little flour just barely and then throw into boiling SALTED water..I don't cover it, just let it cook for 25 minutes poking with a fork and rolling about 3-4 times while cooking. Remove and slice with knedlicky cutter from czech, or let cool and cut with bread knife into bread width pieces. Don't complicate simple recipe...mix-boil and be done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
What a treat to find this recipe! Both of my grandmothers and my own mother passed away before I became interested in cooking and I have always regretted not learning this traditional meal. Thank you Sonya, for the detailed instructions (it brought back so many memories). Unfortunately, my dumplings were not quite as light and fluffy as Babicka's (grandmother's) but this does take some practice. I'm sure it had nothing to do with the recipe and instructions. I may have over-kneaded and possibly cooked them just a little too long but they were still very delicious. I would like to add one valuable tip I found on another site (however, the instructions and ingredients on that site left alot to be desired)...rather than cutting with a knife which can compress the dumplings, use a long piece of dental floss to cut them into slices for serving. It leaves them virtually in their true form and allows the steam to escape so that they don't turn out too hard. This is the only advice I can offer. Sonya, dekuji mockrat (many thanks) for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I thought it is too many eggs, because Knedla came out really yellow and kind of eggy. But otherwise it was very nice, and my husband loved it. I usually make knedlily with yeasted dough, but this recipe is good and quick when I don't have time to let the dough rise. My hubbie is Slovak and the Slovak version of knedla does not have bread cubes in it but I liked this Czech version also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I was a bit intimidated as I have never made dumplings before, but I followed the directions, and my girlfriend (from Prague) was very impressed that I made this along with the pork, and Pilsner Urquell. Looks like it may be time to set "the" date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States