Knedliky - Czech Dumpling with Sauerkraut (Zeli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was so good! I was nervous because the bread seemed difficult in my mind- but was not, very easy and super tasty! I made it with the Czech Roast Pork (Sonya) submitted here - and a super Czech Dinner! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I'm Czech to only my great grandmother used rye bread...quite a nice taste with the pork and saurkraut. sometimes Czech dishes seem so German like because Austria is right over the mountain range.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I have been trying to replicate my grandmother's knedlicky recipe for a while now- the cheesecloth is a great suggestion! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I can finally make my grandmother's dumplings! I followed another reviewer's advice, and left out the baking soda. I also only used 2 eggs. My grandmother always shaped her dumplings using her wet hands, so that's what I did and it worked out perfectly. As for the sauerkraut, I did my grandmother's. She always made hers with caraway seeds, chopped onions and brown sugar, so that's what I did. Made a pork roast in the slow cooker with the zeli and I had a childhood dinner I begged for! I don't have a dumpling slicer (but my grandmother is giving me hers), so I used thread to slice them. The leftover dumplings were cubed and I made another childhood favourite....egg dumplings. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I had this with the Czech Roast Pork. It wasnt what I expected, but it was absolutely amazing - a definite keeper! Thanks for the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I was a bit intimidated as I have never made dumplings before, but I followed the directions, and my girlfriend (from Prague) was very impressed that I made this along with the pork, and Pilsner Urquell. Looks like it may be time to set "the" date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I thought it is too many eggs, because Knedla came out really yellow and kind of eggy. But otherwise it was very nice, and my husband loved it. I usually make knedlily with yeasted dough, but this recipe is good and quick when I don't have time to let the dough rise. My hubbie is Slovak and the Slovak version of knedla does not have bread cubes in it but I liked this Czech version also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
What a treat to find this recipe! Both of my grandmothers and my own mother passed away before I became interested in cooking and I have always regretted not learning this traditional meal. Thank you Sonya, for the detailed instructions (it brought back so many memories). Unfortunately, my dumplings were not quite as light and fluffy as Babicka's (grandmother's) but this does take some practice. I'm sure it had nothing to do with the recipe and instructions. I may have over-kneaded and possibly cooked them just a little too long but they were still very delicious. I would like to add one valuable tip I found on another site (however, the instructions and ingredients on that site left alot to be desired)...rather than cutting with a knife which can compress the dumplings, use a long piece of dental floss to cut them into slices for serving. It leaves them virtually in their true form and allows the steam to escape so that they don't turn out too hard. This is the only advice I can offer. Sonya, dekuji mockrat (many thanks) for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Where is the salted water? Skip the baking soda, add another tsp or 2 of baking powder. No need to keep kneading it..just mix it all together until soft/doughy but still holding it's shape. I roll my smaller (hand sized) football shaped knedlick in a little flour just barely and then throw into boiling SALTED water..I don't cover it, just let it cook for 25 minutes poking with a fork and rolling about 3-4 times while cooking. Remove and slice with knedlicky cutter from czech, or let cool and cut with bread knife into bread width pieces. Don't complicate simple recipe...mix-boil and be done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is almost exactly like my grandmother used to make it, with the exception that she dropped individual "blobs" of dumpling dough into the water. This is how my family continues to make it. Then we serve it with pork roast and sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States