Kiwi Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2001
This is more like preserves. If you want jam, I would suggest using commercial pectin, instead of the apples. The flavor was exceptional. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
This recipe has an excellent flavor. One thing I found was that 24 kiwis makes more than 3 cups of mashed berries. Mine made about 5 cups. Also - I had to cook longer than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
what did i do wrong?? i am an experienced jam and jelly maker using commercial pectin. this recipe would not gel! i ended up using commercial pectin and adding more sugar which affected the taste. i researched and found that once apples (or any high pectin fruit) ripen they don't have the high concentrate of pectin. USE SLIGHTLY UNDERRIPE APPLES!!!!! ended up not tasting good and feedback from tasters was don't waste my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This jam is great! When you peel the kiwis it is easer to cut them in half and spoon out the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
I would call this recipe "Kiwi Syrup" rather than "Kiwi Jam" because it wouldn't thicken properly, but it tasted soooo good on pancakes and waffles that I couldn't possibly give it a bad review! I think it might be the fact that the apples were too ripe and juicy, or they were too big. I'm going to make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This has a wonderful taste. As for the fact that it's "runny", most homemade jams (that is, "natural" jams not using commercial pectin)are always runny. This affect has no bearing on the taste however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This jam is very good, I was a first time maker and was suprised at how easy it was to make. It tasts very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This came out great. My classroom of kindergartners loved it. They thought it looked like frog eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
this is very sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Apple Jacks
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
What a way to use up all of your well-intentioned kiwi purchases! I scaled it down to five fruits and it made about 1 1/2 cups of deliciousness. Here's the thing, though - I didn't like the taste of apple infringing on my kiwi. I took them out and just kept the jam in the fridge. Awe-inspiring with ricotta on croissants, crepes, muffins, cardboard, anything really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States