Kitty Kat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
To make these taste more like KitKats, I leave out the butterscotch chips and sub milk chocolate chips. Use Waverly (rectangular) crackers and remember to press down lightly on each layer as you assemble. Yummy! Thanks Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Wonderful recipe and these were a huge hit at a recent family reunion. When boiling the sugars and graham crumbs, keep the heat low to avoid the sugars burning. It will burn quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
I used Keebler crackers which was nice when i was finished because they all lined up perfectly for cutting. you can see the outline of the crackers through the chocolate and just cut on those marks. I used the three layers of crackers and thought the chocolate topping was just right for that amount of cracker. I agree with other reviews, they taste more like a twix than a kit kat. but very good, they have a mild salty taste that goes well with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Excellent!! I have to agree w/ the others, it does not taste like a kit kat- i think it's the peanut butter& butterscotch. Next time I'll try the topping as 1 cup semi sweet chips & 1 cup milk chocolate chips and see if that's closer to the taste. Good recomendations of others- spray dish w/ pam, have crackers ready in the dish, and refridgerate after assebmling to have it set. Very easy & very yummy, everyone at my office loved them. A definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
These were a hit at my office. Everyone agreed that they weren't a Kit Kat but still really tasty. I used rectangular Keebler Club® Crackers and the milk/semi-sweet choc. combo as suggested. It seemed like a lot of chocolate as I was pouring it on top but it really needed that thick layer to balanced the bottom layers. Be sure to press the cracker layers together to keep it from being crumbly. I kept them in the fridge for days and the crackers didn't get soft at all. (Note: I made these again for a different crowd, this time using ritz crackers. The layers didn't stick together and nobody liked them. They were a crumbly mess and crackers were soft on the second day.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
The receipe instructions need to be more clear. It needs to state in the receipe to already have the crackers in the pan before boiling the ingredients. If you wait to put the crackers in the pan after the boiling, the liquid becomes hard and the the crackers do not stick and it falls apart when cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa D
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This recipe worked well for a surplus of Ritz crackers! Instead of layering in a 9x13, I took 2 cupcake trays and stuck the ritz in each cup. Then layered according to directions. Put them in fridge for about an hour to set. Popped them out of the cup cake trays (w/ knife), and cut them into quarters. The only other change I made was that i used ALL semi sweet chips. Didn't have butterscotch on hand. Enjoyed these! But I agree w/ other reviews...don't really taste like a kit kat. But still worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These are very similar to a recipe in a Paula Deen magazine. And, with all of the ingredients and preparation they just taste like: crackers, chocolate, and brown sugar, definitely not a Kit Kat bar. In addition, they are OVERPOWERINGLY SWEET & RICH! Maybe, it was the butterscotch chips, which I don't care for? But, not a good dessert at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I reduced the white sugar to half cup, used club-house type crackers, and used 2 cups milk chocolate chips (no butterscotch) with peanut butter for the topping. I give them four starts because I have quite a sweet tooth and enjoy the sweet treat, but my other half only ate half a bar and said they were way too sweet....needless to say they are lasting a long time with just me eating them, but I have been happily nibbling on them for days and they are still crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Very good....tookt hem to a football party, everyone loved them, but said they tasted like Twix candy bars. I do not know what they taste like, but they are very very good. I will make again. Made three layers, used Pam sprayed on the bottom of pan, pressed down each layer lightly, also used Waverly rectangle crackers, and cooled in the fridge about 1 hour before cutting into bars. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States