Kitty Kat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
If I were to rate these as copcat Kit Kat bars, they would get a 2. They taste NOTHING like Kit Kats. That being said, they are AMAZING as is! I used all milk chocolate chips because that was all that I had so my review isn't 100% accurate, but made that way, they were delicious and I will most definitely be making them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Fabulous! Everyone raved about these and asked for the recipe. Only changes were using Keebler Club crackers as suggested, and I used 2 full cups of chocolate chips instead of butterscotch. Thanks so much Dee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These are delightful! Yum is all I can say. Make as directed, all the topping is necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These are very similar to a recipe in a Paula Deen magazine. And, with all of the ingredients and preparation they just taste like: crackers, chocolate, and brown sugar, definitely not a Kit Kat bar. In addition, they are OVERPOWERINGLY SWEET & RICH! Maybe, it was the butterscotch chips, which I don't care for? But, not a good dessert at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These are really good bars. I left out the top layer of the crackers because I like my desserts more on the sweet side (which this one was) and I didn't want the saltiness of the crackers to be too dominant. I had no problems with the caramel hardening. In fact mine was almost too hard to spread. It probably could have done with just 4 minutes of boiling. When they were done, I put them in the freezer to set the chocolate and they were ready to eat after about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lace
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These don't taste like Kit Kats, but are still very good if you like butterscotch! I also used Keebler Club crackers as others suggested and crunchy PB that I had on hand. I put them in the fridge for an hour to cool before cutting, but the chocolate was still too soft. I then put them in the freezer for about 45 minutes - much easier to cut in to. My only problem was that the gooey part seeped below the bottom cracker layer, which caused them to be sticky on the bottom when stacking. I was hoping for a nice cracker bottom.... oh well, still delicious! I would probably rename these as Butterscotch Bars in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
The only thing I did different was use Club crackers just like my Grandma used to make. They are quick to make and super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
These were pretty good. I used all chocolate chips because I didn't have butterscotch and I don't care for it that much anyway. I didn't have enough ritz crackers to make this, so I used the rectangular Keebler crackers instead. Although it tasted great it didn't really taste like a Kit Kat, but who cares if it tastes good! Thanks, will definitely make again because my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa D
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This recipe worked well for a surplus of Ritz crackers! Instead of layering in a 9x13, I took 2 cupcake trays and stuck the ritz in each cup. Then layered according to directions. Put them in fridge for about an hour to set. Popped them out of the cup cake trays (w/ knife), and cut them into quarters. The only other change I made was that i used ALL semi sweet chips. Didn't have butterscotch on hand. Enjoyed these! But I agree w/ other reviews...don't really taste like a kit kat. But still worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
thee are great bars as the recipe says, family loves them. The longer they sit, the better they taste. Made them several times, only suggestion would be to make layers of different crackers-1 of ritz, 1 of brettons crackers-you will not be disappointed trying these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States