Kingman's Vegan Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I am not a vegan and coming from India I love vegetarian and bake my own bread for 3 years now. Was very excited to try this at first but on reading the ingredients was shocked by the 2 cups sugar, never mind the uswt. apple sauce! I thought it might be too sweet as in my baking I use no more than 2 TBSP sugar for the proofing of yeast. I decided to try this hoping that the ingredients would balance out and offset a bit the sugar. Very disappointed that it turned out much too sweet and mushy – even for a cake! Sorry but this was a waste of ingredients, time and electricity. Diabetics and overweight Vegans beware! To be noted with a bit of humor that there is a video posted on top of the reviews of this recipe "5 minute blood sugar killer!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Yuck, yuck, yuck! This is not a bread, it's a pudding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Kingman's Vegan Zucchini Bread Haiku: "With a few changes, made this lactation-friendly, retained a great taste!" Reduced sugars, subbed 1/2 the veg oil for coconut oil, added 1 TB brewer's yeast and 1 TB wheat germ, all in the name of amp-up-milk-supply coupled w/ mmm zucchini bread gooooood. OK, and a handful of chocolate chips didn't hurt either. I hope I don't get knocked for my additions, but I LOVE this bread. Froze one of the loaves and have found that it tastes just as good from freezer to toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Fantastic! I even reduced the oil by a little bit (2/3 cup vs 3/4) and adding in about a half cup of shredded dried coconut and it came out perfect. I made them into mini muffins (12 minutes in the oven) and regular cupcake-sized muffins (22 minutes). Next time I may even further reduce the oil to 1/2 cup and reduce the sugars to 2/3 cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Hands down, the BEST zucchini bread I've ever tasted! Similar opinions from my husband, kids, co-workers and neighbor! It's a hit around here and I'll be making it regularly from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leyna Morrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great recipe! Might add some dried cranberries next time just for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is super delicious. It is better than any non-vegan zucchini bread that I've ever tried. I left out the flax and arrowroot and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KHJanove
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! It was easy for a non-expert like me, and the bread came out perfectly! It was a beautiful color and very tender--I think because of the applesauce. I might cut the sugar just a bit next time and maybe experiment with a different type of flour, but all and all this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very delicious. I didn't have the optional ingredients but followed the directions other than that. I have tried using two loaf pans and the bread was a little small for my preferences. It does come out the size shown in the photo if you use two loaf pans, I am going to be trying just one pan with a substitution of 1 cup of wheat flour. I'll update after it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and after 70 minutes the breads were raw. Yes my oven works. Tried to put them back in oven to bake more. Won't do this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States